Skip to content

Malted Milk Mess

September 11, 2011

Summer in Minnesota is ending with days of perfect weather. The skies are almost entirely blue and while it was warm it wasn’t hot and most importantly it wasn’t humid. Max and I took advantage of the day to go for a short run and I grilled some brats and some spicy shrimp. Max was pretty happy to get brats from the grill instead of ribs, Portobello mushroom, chicken, or rabbit. It should come as little surprise that the shrimp was delicious. I would like to point out that while I had to buy the brats today at the grocery store – I had everything I needed to make the shrimp just lying around.

Such a beautiful day deserved a great dessert to end it so we decided to make a recipe that the kids grandmother gave them while she was visiting recently, Malted Milk Ice Cream Bonbons. She clipped the recipe from the New York Timesand as you can see below they look quite tasty. We made two flavors of bonbons, chocolate and coffee. Perhaps my title gives it away, but ours looked nothing like the picture.  I used all of my available labor and we created an assembly line to make about 20 bonbons. Melanie scooped the ice cream into a small ball, Max rolled it in Malted Milk Powder and I pressed them into the crushed Malted Milk Balls. They looked great

Andrew Scrivani for The New York Times

going into the freezer, but I could already see them melting a little. I guess they continued to melt for a few minutes until the refroze because when we took them out an hour later we had a solid mass of ice cream. You could see bumps where we had put the bonbons down. Undaunted I cut up the plate of ice cream with a knife and we ate each “bonbon” with a spoon.

 

Max’s Damn Good Time for running a Mile: 10:27

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2011 1:02 pm

    I feel heavier just LOOKING at this!

  2. Patti permalink
    September 12, 2011 10:07 pm

    What a wonderful concept…titling your blogs in alliteration. If they’re like Hurricane names, I’m wondering where A through L ,went, and can we look forward to N through Z? I really can’t wait to see what you do with Z!

    • September 13, 2011 1:03 am

      If I had thought of that at the beginning of the year it would have been genius, but I’m not doing the alphabet. There was a special on M’s this week so I decided to go with it.

  3. Janet Koplos permalink
    September 11, 2011 9:02 am

    Too bad they weren’t aesthetically pleasing! But this reminds me of when I was a child and my father could make fudge without a recipe. Sometimes it set up and could be cut into nice little bars, and sometimes it remained a gooey mass. But we didn’t care. It tasted just as good! PS Maybe they needed to get in the freezer immediately, in small batches?

    • September 11, 2011 10:35 am

      We did them in two batches both less than 10 bonbons. The ice cream was a little soft to start with which didn’t help.

  4. September 11, 2011 7:46 am

    ooooooooooooooh, shrimp……….

    • September 11, 2011 10:32 am

      Coated with orange infused olive oil, a concoction of killer spices, and a little brown sugar to cut the burn. They were pretty tasty.

    • September 11, 2011 12:13 pm

      Thanks for contributing the watermelon – it is the best one I’ve tasted this summer.

      • September 12, 2011 1:33 pm

        you are more than welcome! that stand hard great tomatoes and corn, too. and peaches. colorado peaches….

  5. Dad permalink
    September 11, 2011 7:30 am

    Another ice cream post! When I induced Paulene to read the blog you were doing the ice cream week. Paulene’s comment: they really like their ice cream, don’t they?

    • September 11, 2011 10:34 am

      Wow, I have readers in England. Thanks for spreading the word. I can’t imagine what she would have thought if she’d checked out the blog during Taste Like Chicken Week.

Leave a Reply

