Skip to content

Max, Melanie, and Me

September 10, 2011

Both Kira and Sarah are gone this weekend which just leaves the three M’s at home. We started things off by eating dinner at Key’s Cafe. We all had some delicious food and Max pestered me relentlessly to get dessert. I decided we were all too full to eat dessert so we bought some cookies and took them home to eat later. The cookies were huge and soft like they had just been baked. Now there is no milk left in the house for breakfast. I told them they could just use cream on their cereal – it can’t possibly make Reeses Puffs taste any sweeter.

I like to try to have fun when it is just me and the kids, but it was a pretty tame night for the three M’s.

Max went to bed not too long after we got home from dinner and Melanie and I watched a couple of movies. She fell asleep during the second one, which may or may not have been a critique of my choices.

I’ve managed to not cook anything for three days and I don’t have any damn good meals planned until next Saturday. Without Kira here there is no point in cooking any elaborate meals. When she gets back I’m going to make my penultimate Hollandaise Sauce (or at least the next to the last one for this project). I’m sure we’ll manage to eat some tasty food while Kira and Sarah are gone it just won’t be any new recipes. Max has expressed an interest in making homemade banana splits. Seems doable.

I only have a total of twenty recipes left to cook and I have all of them planned out on my cooking calendar. I have a check box for Planned on my the table for the recipes (that’s right I still use the MS Access database I set up during week Two – I’d be lost without it) and it felt really weird to check the box for the last one. I can only imagine what it will feel like to check off the last recipe Made.

Damn Good Movie Trivia of the Day: In the movie Xanadu, Olivia Newton John’s character is named Kira.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 2:48 pm

    You’re way more organised than I would be working my way through a cookbook! But, then again, the cookbook I’d be more likely to make my way through is a baking cookbook. Death by Chocolate is my fav.

    • September 12, 2011 2:52 pm

      There is a rumor that Hell’s Kitchen is opening up a bakery next year and my kids were very excited about the prospect of me cooking my way through that. Death by Chocolate would probably work for them as well.

  2. September 10, 2011 1:17 pm

    Olivia Newton John was one of my boyhood crushes. Great way to make use of her stellar career!

  3. September 10, 2011 7:37 am

    I didn’t know that your recipe is well managed. It’s so fun.:)

Leave a Reply

