Skip to content

Doesn’t Taste Like Chicken

September 2, 2011

I’m trying to get a lot of recipes in this week so tonight I came home and threw a frozen pizza in the oven for the kids and then started making Roasted Venison for myself and Kira.

The easiest part of the meal to prepare was the venison roast. I had a very small tenderloin and I rubbed it with olive oil and salt. Then I slowly baked it until it reached 110 degrees ( a very nice pink). Mitch is very clear that the meat needs to be served rare. Too many chefs believe that game needs to be cooked for a long time. Based on how this meal turned out I am going to side with Mitch once again

While the meat was cooking I made the polenta and cooked the vegetables in a sauce made from butter, beef stock and a little sugar. There are no spices in the sauce, but the pearl onions and whole cloves of garlic gave it plenty of flavor. Watching the polenta form was very satisfying and if you are ever looking to make a meal more interesting I suggest this as a replacement for potatoes. The smells while cooking this were great, but when I plated it I the appearance disappointed me.. With all the colors and fancy polenta that I had to work with I just thought it would look prettier.

Then I tasted the venison and I no longer cared what it looked like. The meat was amazingly tender and flavorful. It was so soft that in a bite of polenta and venison the texture was too similar to tell them apart. The cooked cloves of garlic had become like pats of butter and I was able to spread them on the meat and polenta.

Kira declared that she might have a new favorite meal, but she wants me to make the Tuna again just to make sure. [The blog post for the Tuna has been delayed due to Kira’s cousin having a limp. By which I mean he is lame.]

After the slight disappointment of the rabbit gravy it was great to have another amazingly delicious damn good meal.

Recipe #130: Roasted Venison with Root Vegetables over Soft Polenta

Recipe #131: Soft Polenta

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: You can make the following with whatever venison you happen to have on hand.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2011 11:39 am

    Bambi looked very tasty!

    • September 3, 2011 11:57 am

      Bambi was super tasty. We will eating this again sometime.

  2. Dad permalink
    September 3, 2011 9:29 am

    Read this one sitting in the Red Carpet Club at LAX! Bumped up to 1st Class for the two legs to Kona!

Trackbacks

  1. Tastes Like Antelope « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

