Skip to content

What to Blog

August 29, 2011

I did some quick math today and there are sixteen weeks left in the Mike/Mitch project. Which means that I only have to come up with 16 more weekly themes. Stated another way this means I have to come up with sixteen more weekly themes for the blog. I do have some ideas and at the moment I have everything planned out all the way to the end of next week.

The other ideas I’ve come up with still need some fleshing out, but here is what you can possibly look forward to over the next couple of months.

  • Video Week: Because what has really been missing from the blog is my smiling face and stilted delivery of bad jokes.
  • Restaurant Week: A week of eating out every night and writing reviews. Melanie seems very fond of this idea.
  • Star Trek Week: Not really sure what this would involve, but it could be geekily awesome.
  • Bacon Week: I can’t believe I haven’t done this one yet.
  • Zombie Week: Damn Good BRAINS!!!
  • Thing 1 and Thing 2 Week:  This idea relies on being picked by Ironic Mom to Host Thing 1 and Thing 2 here in the Twin Cities. I think she’s already picked her destinations, but a blogger can dream, right? I think they would really enjoy dining in Hell.
  • Humphrey Bogart Week: Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful blog.
  • Mickey Week: Who’s the leader of the blog that’s made for you and me?
  • Donation Week: I’m going to spend as little as I can on groceries that week and then give the rest to a charity. Probably the one that has had a badge on my blog for several weeks now.
  • Cookbook week: Every Day a different Cookbook
  • Julia & Julia Week : A return to my roots.
  • Around the World in 7 Days: Visit 7 culinary countries in one week.
If you are counting you will see that this isn’t quite 16 ideas. This is where you come in my faithful readers. If you have any ideas for how I can spend a week of blogging leave it in the comments. This is pure brainstorming type stuff. No idea is too off the wall. Remember I’m counting on you. If I can’t come up with some better ideas we are all going to have to suffer through Paint Drying Week or Know-Your-Secretary-of-the-Interior Week. Nobody wants that.
Damn Good Get Well Wish of the Day: Kira’s Uncle (possibly the nicest person I know) is in the hospital recovering from a “procedure”. Sounds like everything is going fine, but I want to wish him a speedy recovery. Get Well Soon.
8 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2011 11:23 am

    Expand on the Star Trek week. Have an original series week, an Enterprise week, a Next Generation week….you get the picture. Or a spaceship week. Or a robots week. There are lots of geeky type themes, but then again, those themes might not appeal to non-geeks.

    • September 9, 2011 11:26 am

      I like the idea of Robot Week. Now I just need to fit it in before the end. I could sppof off of the three laws of Robotics (three laws of Cooking:

      1) Cannot allow a meal through any action or inaction on my part to NOT include cream and butter…

  2. September 2, 2011 1:57 pm

    Good luck, my blogging friend!

  3. Patti permalink
    August 31, 2011 6:03 am

    You made Kira’s Aunt cry!

    How about “Things I hope I never see or do again”?
    Whatever you come up with, know I’m hooked for life!

  4. August 30, 2011 10:24 am

    How about my favorite recipes from the past year week

    • August 30, 2011 10:29 am

      Are we talking my favorite recipes or yours? I don’t think I can find any morels this time of year.

  5. Dad permalink
    August 30, 2011 5:58 am

    AL, NY, AL, OK, CA, Japan, NM–seven places you lived growing up. if you don’t want to repeat AL or CA then include MN and find a recipe from each state and country! You could also do a week of Philadelphia recipes to honor your roots. Scrapple, pepper pot soup, cheese steaks, etc.

    It’s official–most 100 degree days in a year in Del Rio and there are 8 more forecast over the 10 day forecast! Hawaii’s looking cooler and cooler. we leave Friday. I’ve already checked on 3G coverage and we’re good–I shouldn’t have any problem keeping up with the Phillies and the M/M Project.

Leave a Reply

