Skip to content

Like a Blog

August 24, 2011

Unless you’ve been paying very close attention (or have been trapped in a room with me during the last six months listening to me talk about my blog) you may not have noticed that the blog has been keeping consistent weekly themes cycling Wednesday-Tuesday. For those of you wondering why W-Th it is because I randomly started on a Wednesday and came up with the idea of weekly themes after I started. My life would probably have been a little easier if I had gone with a traditional calendar. Many’s the Wednesday that has crept up on me without any idea what the theme for that week would be which leads to things like, Old TV show weekWeird Al Week, and my personal favorite No Theme Week. This week I have decided I am just going to blog. And I realize that sounds a lot like no theme week, but I started this week off with this meta explanation of what I am doing so that makes it different.

We returned from our vacation today and I’m too exhausted to think about uploading any pictures just yet. Maybe tomorrow.

Our vacation was a trip out wast to visit Kira’s Mom in New Jersey and her Dad in Cape Cod. A good time was had by everyone in our family at both locations and there may have been some cooking. I’m sure more stories about our trip will creep into the posts over the next few days, but I used up most of my creative juices on the really clever introduction so I’m just going to recap the trip back.

We left on Monday morning and drove from Cape Code to Niagra Falls, arriving just in time to eat an amazing dinner at the Red Coach Inn. After dinner we walked over and viewed the falls. We didn’t linger too long, but it was dark by the time we walked back to our hotel and the light on the falls had turned to purple. I lived in upstate New York for four years when I was a growing up and I’ve been to the falls a couple of times. My memories of visiting Niagara Falls are very fuzzy, but the drive up there got me thinking about living in Rome, NY. As we zipped down the high way I remembered visiting our friends the Blaches and running around on a fog filled night catching fire flies. I remembered staying out past our dinner curfew hiding in the bushes because we had wandered into the yard of the neighborhood bully – I think he was a 4th grader.  I remember walking home from school (Francis Bellamy Elementary)  through the woods. Taking the “short cuts” when we felt bold enough. I remember learning to ride my bike. It was an Evil Knievel bike and it had plastic tabs between the spokes to make that cool noise you would normally need playing cards to achieve. The drive went quickly and while it was 30 miles out of our way it was a very worthwhile detour.

Our second day of travel took us to Chicago. We could have easily stayed on the outskirts of the Windy City, but Kira thought it would be neat to stay at the Palmer House Hilton in downtown Chicago. She was right. We walked over to Millennium Park, saw the weird spitting face fountain and the mirrored torus shaped thingy. then we had Deep dish Pizza for dinner. After tiring the kids out in the pool we tucked them in and snuck down to Potter’s Lounge for a night cap. It was a highly satisfactory change from our usual Motel 6/Comfort Inn routine.

Now we are home and back to reality. Back to work. Back to School. Back to blogging.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2011 12:04 pm

    Gino’s pizza is the best. You make me want to visit Chicago now!

  2. thegreenhermione permalink
    August 30, 2011 11:07 pm

    Potter’s Lounge? Is that like the Gryffindor common room?

  3. August 26, 2011 1:08 am

    Glad you’re back, although I did enjoy the guest posts quite a lot (: Your family and friends are so neat!

  4. minnesotatransplant permalink
    August 25, 2011 1:59 pm

    What kind of deep dish pizza? We have a running argument here about whether Malnati’s or Gino’s is best.

  5. August 25, 2011 1:23 pm

    But it’s a “good exhausted”, right?

  6. Dad permalink
    August 25, 2011 7:30 am

    You can talk about the years in Rome and not mention the annual piles of snow? Your years in Minnesnowta have jaded you! Perhaps your memories of visiting the Falls are fuzzy from the mist? The Palmer House– a nice touch.

    • August 25, 2011 7:58 am

      I almost mentioned the year it snowed on my birthday. But you are right that living in mn has made that a nonevent.

Leave a Reply

