Skip to content

The Mike/Donut Project

August 16, 2011

What if I run out of time to write another What If Post Before I leave on vacation?

Then I punt and copy/paste a cool that happened to me involving donuts.

That’s right, donuts.

Here is a conversation I had with my very good friend “Tim” over several days via texting, email and Twitter.

9 pm August 1, 2011

Mike,

<blah
… Portland, where I’ve never been and have been waiting to visit for ages. They have donuts there. And weird people. I need some of that!
ttfn,
Tim
9:01 pm August 1, 2011
I read Portland and thought Voodoo donuts, before I kept reading. Sounds like it is already on your radar. You will be the third person I know who went to portland this summer and didn’t get me any donuts. They claim they can’t be shipped, but have they TRIED?

Be sure and visit Powells Bookstore. So you can rub that in my face too. Great quote from my friend Victor – “You know you are in a good bookstore when they don’t have the book you are looking for because it is in a different building.”

-Mike
9:50 pm August 1, 2011

Go to voodoo donuts website and pick the donuts you want. I will make it happen.

I’ll add Powells to the list too!
-Tim
9:51 pm August 1, 2011
Work your magic my good sir.

I will take a voodoo doll and a mango tango for the lady. Tomorrow night will end Ice Cream Week on the Mike/mitch project.

Long Live Doughnut Week! Vive la Jelly filled!

-Mike
10:30 pm August 1, 2011

I think you need to pick more donuts.

Yes, you definitely need to pick more donuts. I’m sure the kids will eat some too. 😀
1031: pm August 1, 2011
Well if you insist.

I suppose two of the voodoo dolls are in order so that we don’t have to argue.

A portland Cream, Dirt Donut, Memphis Mafia, Old Dirty Bastard, butterfingering, Chocolate coconut , Raspberry Romea. If you need more than that pick some extra choclaty ones because I tended to pick ones that I like and the kids they like the chocolate.

If you make this happen you are a god among men. Keep in mind we will be out of town for parts of August. If you can’t work it out I will understand, but think of the children! (Seriously, it says right on their website that they won’t ship them so I understand. At the very least I expect pictures.)

-Mike

1114 pm August 1, 2011

Our goal will be to hit Voodoo on the way in and out and overnight them. We come home on the 9th, so there is no margin for error!!

Here’s to DONUTS!!!
12:04 August 6, 2011 (Tweet from Tim)
Hello PDX 🙂 phase 1 complete (arrival) phase 2 – donuts – pending
5:04 pm August 9, 2011 (Tweet from Tim)
Operation Pink box is GO. Notice GoofyMike ETA 1200 081011
5:05 pm August 9, 2011 (Tweet from Me)
You Rock!
10:21 am August 10, 2011 (Tweet from Tim)
Your item was processed through and left our SAINT PAUL, MN 55111 facility on August 10, 2011 at 7:04 am #InTransit
12:45 pm August 10, 2011 (Tweet from Me)
Operation pink box is a success. @teden does what they say can’t be done #voodoodonuts
6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2011 12:59 am

    (Because it won’t let me reply to your comment)

    o.0 And it’s in Portland? And more importantly, WE DIDN’T GO THERE?! *gasp*

    Okay, I kind of understand 😄 Mom and Dad probably didn’t tell me it was up there so we’d actually have money to buy the gas to get home, instead of popping tires from the weight of all the books I would beg them for.

    But that didn’t last for long 😀 Next time we head up, I’m making them take me there. Have you been? Is it as amazing as it sounds?

    • August 18, 2011 6:31 pm

      Alas I have not been but I have seen pictures. Truly a bibliophiles dream.

  2. August 16, 2011 8:39 pm

    NO. WAY. VOODOO DONUTS? No wonder you are so freakin’ awesome. We LOVE that place 😄 A family friend lives in Portland, and he brings those down every time he visits. When we went up there last summer, it was one of our goals to hit up the shop…. unfortunately they were closed when we tried.

    Did you get the Maple Bacon ones? Those are infamous around here…. and we’re 1,400 miles away. LOL.

    • August 16, 2011 8:53 pm

      From what I heard they just reopened a few weeks ago. Did you make it to Powels?

      • August 17, 2011 8:05 pm

        Yeah, but that was over a year back. We just screwed up the hours and went at the wrong time.

        Nope… what exactly is Powels? It’s not a pizza place with huge flatscreens and the most terrible music on this side of Miley Cyrus, is it? Because if so, we’ve been there. If not, I’m not sure.

      • August 17, 2011 8:14 pm

        Powels is the largest bookstore in the country (world?)

Leave a Reply

