Skip to content

Breeeeeaaad…

August 6, 2011

Bread has been one of my favorite grains for quite some time now. The delicious, freshly baked, rosemary loaves that they bring you before your meal at Macaroni Grill; the simple French bread we eat at home whenever we have spaghetti; my recent favorite, those bake-at-home ciabatta rolls from the grocery store: they each have their own delicious texture, flavor, heart and soul. It’s almost as if each kind of bread has a brain, ready to be devoured by a hungry person such as myself. Almost as if I’m some sort of undead monster that seeks bread. Like some kind of……bread zombie.
I even felt the effects of this horrible ailment during tonight’s meal. To begin, I chopped a lot of veggies that went into various Hell’s Kitchen recipes. But then, I was put in charge of bread (we had those delicious bake-at-home ciabatta rolls). I put them in the oven, and they began to cook. The outside turned a beautiful golden brown as it heated, and the smell of delicious ciabatta filled the air. Meanwhile, my dad was grilling some fish with fancy seasoning, but that didn’t smell good at all. I only cared about the bread.

Once we sat down to eat, the plate of rolls sat tantalizingly beside me, while I was forced to eat this awful piece of grilled aquatic something, seasoned and topped with strange salsa. I devoured it in seconds (so that I could get to the bread sooner, of course). Finally, I was able to pick up a roll and bite through the crust to the brain within. Finally, I was eating quality food, after all these torturous evenings of horrible custard desserts, giant shrimp, and homemade noodles. Finally, my breadlust was sated.

Recipe #119: Something Rice-Like that Wasn’t Bread
Recipe #120: Something Fish-Like that Wasnt Bread

Damn Good Ratatouille Quote of the Evening: How can you tell how good bread is without tasting it? Not the smell, not the look, but the sound of the crust. Listen. A symphony of crackle. Only great bread sounds this way.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2011 1:32 pm

    Bread rocks!

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    August 8, 2011 7:39 am

    Ah, girl after my own heart! And to think that many people are content with slices of marshmallow bread that turns gummy and sticks to the roof of your mouth. What do they know!

  3. Patti permalink
    August 7, 2011 11:59 am

    Bread…the staff of life..Ice Cream…nector of the gods!

Trackbacks

  1. Return of the Living Bread « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

