Skip to content

This Post is Different

August 5, 2011

Tonight we ate a lot of food. It was all delicious. But that’s not why this post is different. This post is different because I’m not typing it on my old, clunky laptop! I’m typing it using (drumroll, please….) an iPad 2! Apparently, my dad works at a magical unicorn palace where they give you free iPads for doing your job well. It’s true. They even have dragons. And Nerf wars.
iPads have long been coveted by students, grandparents (specifically, mine), and awesome people alike. I guess our family has now joined the ranks of iPad owners, despite my father’s claims that he is not a “Mac.” Although he plans on using it for work (is there a Nerf war app?), you can rest assured that I will, at the very least, download and play Angry Birds. I’m sure you want to hear more about this totally awesome device that comes from a magical land, but I do plan on talking a bit about the food. Don’t worry, you can be certain that this post will still be awesomely typed on an iPad.
I’ll tell you, using an iPad, how I had to wake up early (it was nearly 2 pm!) to rinse ginormous shrimp and lather them in the spicy barbecue sauce that we made in the magical food processor. I’ll also explain, using an iPad, how I placed the elephantine crustaceans in the refrigerator, to be taken out by my father upon his return home from work with said iPad. Then you’ll find out, through words typed on an iPad, how my dad used the grill to grill said jumbo shrimp, which almost didn’t fit on the grill because of their largeness. Through the magic of the iPad, I’ll even tell you how my parents, our dinner guests and I devoured these delicious sea-dwellers, enjoying their enormousness and their spicy qualities that made my dad sweat like crazy.

You’ll be assured that the custard made last night had various sugars added to it. It was then placed in the oven, which was set to “broil.” The oven worked its magic, and the sugar-topped custard was turned into the most delicious crème brûlée I’ve ever tasted.

I even went back for seconds, though I was unable to finish it because I had already eaten so much burnt cream, in addition to several of the Little Mermaid’s friends. (This paragraph brought to you by iPad the Magnificient)
The wondrous iPad will finally tell you that this post, with all it’s differentness, will soon be ending. As soon as I tell you how Pottermore is still exciting (the Magical Quill challenge is now over, so my welcome email could come any day!), crème brûlée is still musical, and blogging is somewhat cooler when you have an iPad.

Recipe #11[x]: Delicious, Giant Shrimp

Damn Random Starkid Song of the Evening: Hermione can’t draw, Hermione can’t draw, Hermione cannot draw! She only reads books and she cannot draw, even if she’s reading a how-to-draw book!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:40 pm

    The food looks so delicious!

  2. August 12, 2011 1:34 pm

    Different is good!

  3. August 8, 2011 8:55 am

    What a great meal. The shrimp look fantastic, definitely worth the sweat!

  4. Janet Koplos permalink
    August 7, 2011 9:47 am

    I-Pad for dinner, really? But seriously, how is it any better than your laptop, other than newer and shinier?

  5. Dad permalink
    August 6, 2011 7:21 am

    IPad envy! I’m still “Making Do” with my original IPad 1! GM read the first two of the Green One’s posts and mumbled something about cuteness,, muggleness, and yummyosity. Hold a rammekin for November, (We’ll need to eat four or five times a day to sample all the recipes I’ve told you would be good)

  6. Patti permalink
    August 6, 2011 6:30 am

    Wow! He let you use the iPad!? Did you need to use a magical spell from your wand?

    I love how the creme brulee was your best ever…bet it won’t be your last either!

    Another good post Mel, Your English teacher wouldl be so proud of you!

  7. August 6, 2011 1:40 am

    Epic iPad post is epic! That’s awesome– there’s so many cool things you can do on those. And if you DO find a Nerf War app, let me know. I’ll go out and buy an iPad 😛

    Creme brulee sounds delicious…. You should figure out a way to ship this cross-country, then take orders.

    I’ll take a gallon of Butterbeer, as well, please.

    XD

  8. August 6, 2011 12:22 am

    Damned awesome shrimp! And tho I do not own an Ipad, still, the awesomeness of this dinner shines thru! Great post, BTW!

    -Spectra

  9. August 5, 2011 11:41 pm

    I feel obligated to note that the green beans were fresh from Kira’s (Max and Sarah’s?) vegetable garden.

Leave a Reply

