Skip to content

Mayonnaise is Magical

August 3, 2011

Hello family, friends, neighbors, and random people on the internet who read my father’s blog! A long, long time ago my dad drove me and some friends to Chicago to meet some of the members of the amazingly supermegafoxyawesomehot Team Starkid! We negotiated a deal in which if my dad agreed to wake up at 5am and drive 3 giggling teenage girls 7 hours to the Windy City, I would blog for him for a week. (As well as feed the cats and tell him he was awesome). This seemed like a perfectly reasonable and fair deal while Dylan freaking Saunders  was hugging me, and my friends and I were fangirling over Jim Povolo (We still have the packet of Red Vines that he touched!).  But now I actually have to do it, and as I’m somewhat inexperienced at the whole “blogging” thing, I don’t guarantee any quality posts.

As my dad said, there will be some Harry Potter stuff, some Starkid stuff, and references to music (be it popular or unpopular).  I’m pretty much a PotterheadStarkidMusicaltheatreGleek (but I also like shiency stuff).

In case you don’t follow obscure theatre troupes, Team Starkid (also known as Starkidpotter or Starkid Productions) is a theatre company that made their fame with the original parody show “A Very Potter Musical,” which can be found on Youtube. They’ve made a few other shows, as well, all of which are posted on Youtube. The team is full of fantastically hilarious and talented actors, who deserve to make it big. Last year, Darren Criss, who plays Harry in the Potter musicals, landed the role of Blaine on Glee, which has done wonders for the Starkid fanbase. If you haven’t, you should definitely go check them out, or at least stare in awe at their supermegafoxyawesomehotness!

Right now, the big thing happening in the Harry Potter/Starkid world (to speak of one is to speak of the other in this case, as with souls and minds) is Pottermore!! It’s a new website created by J. K. Rowling that provides an interactive experience with the Potter books. I’m not really sure how to explain it, but if you follow the link and watch the video, Rowling herself will tell you all about it!

When the website was first announced, fans were told that some lucky ones would be granted early access to the site. On Sunday, the 31st, the Magical Quill challenge was announced:  each day for the next 7 days, a clue would be posted that led to a Magic Quill. If you could find the Quill before registration slots were full for the day, then you would be one of the lucky few who got to shape the experience!  This Challenge is still going on, but I don’t need to worry about it, of course, because I got in on the first night! Although I won’t necessarily be let into the actual site for a few weeks, I am SUPER excited! I’ll get sorted into a house, interact with other Potter fans, and there will be new information that Jo has been keeping to herself about various characters and plot points!

Up until a few months ago, it appeared as though the release of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2 would truly be the end of an era. Fans would continue to create wrock and fanart; the books would be reread countless times; but there would be no more books or movies or sitting in the cinema at midnight premieres, surrounded by others who revered the Potter saga just as much as I did. My childhood might even have ended. But with the announcement of Pottermore, all hope was not lost! There is still more information to be gleaned from the Wizarding World! The magic lives on!

Speaking of magic (corny transition coming up here), food processors are pretty magical! Many an evening I have heard the annoyingly loud appliance at work, creating delicious sauces, but I don’t think I’ve ever actually watched it do it’s thing. Earlier today, I made mayonnaise in it with my father. The way mayo-making works is you put an egg and some other stuff in a food processor, then add some oil and blend it up. Then you add some more oil and repeat. Then some more oil. Then some more, just to make sure it’s oily enough. And then mayonnaise magically appears out of the oily gooey stuff! You can even make egg salad with it!

Food processors are also good for making barbeque sauce, as I learned last night. It turns out, if you put the ingredients that Mitch tells you to into a food processor, they can turn into a deliciously spicy sauce that’s great for putting on shrimp!

And that’s about it. Harry Potter is magical. Starkid is magical. Mayonnaise is magical. Pottermore is exciting. And blogging is hard.

Recipe #somethingorother: Some New Kind of Barbeque Sauce

Damn Good Nothing of the Day: ………..

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2011 4:18 pm

    You are a talented writer! Great first post.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    August 5, 2011 11:15 pm

    A fine–and fun–debut.

  3. August 5, 2011 12:22 pm

    I’m not a mayo fan, but great post, good sir!

  4. August 5, 2011 5:08 am

    W00t, Starkid! I was fangirling over Darren Criss back before he was on Glee…. aka longer than the rest of the teen girl population.

    Favorite way to say “Red wines” in a German accent? 😛

    Congrats on taking over the blog– love what you’ve written so far!

    Mayo is pretty much a food staple for me XD I’ve never made it before, but it sounds easy enough.

  5. August 4, 2011 11:12 pm

    Ut a blog post magicarum! Placuit ut magicis agnoverunt naturam peculiariter mayonnaise. Sed quomodo sum ​​curiosus inventus pectine felis. Nulla mihi – possum facere secretum. Puto iam potes facere tuis spells. Transistis vestris NOCTUINUS etiam?

  6. August 4, 2011 8:16 am

    Food processors is convenient and useful for cooking various juice but just boring clean it up.:)

  7. Kira permalink
    August 4, 2011 7:10 am

    I laughed, I cried, I went home happy. Great post.

  8. Patti permalink
    August 4, 2011 6:56 am

    Nice start Melanie! Looking forward to reading more…who knew Harry would take on a life of it’s own like this…you will surely be our guide into this world! (as you guided me into the first of the books oh so long ago) Happy blogging Greenhermione!

  9. Dad permalink
    August 4, 2011 6:22 am

    Nicely done, eldest grandchild. I look forward to more!

  10. August 4, 2011 12:02 am

    Congrats on getting into pottermore 🙂

Leave a Reply

