Skip to content

Ice Cream Social

August 2, 2011

Tonight is National Night Out and following our long-standing two-year tradition in our neighborhood somebody hosted and provided ice cream. Everyone else in the neighborhood brought their favorite topping and we had a huge sundae bar. We’ve lived in our neighborhood for almost 9 years and until last year we hadn’t met many of our neighbors. I’m not the most social person and Kira is just really busy so we knew the people on either side of us and that was about it. It is an old neighborhood and it has been slowly turning over with new younger families. Last year one of our new neighbors had their act together and they organized things for National Night Out. Several of us  managed to stay in touch over the long MN winter using email and FaceBook (see, it isn’t completely evil) and we all met in person again tonight. I could go on about the virtues of community and how we’ve created a small town feeling right here in the big city, but I know what you really want to know is what ice cream topping I brought.

Some of my neighbors read the blog (and some have even helped to write it) so I knew that I wanted to bring something from the Damn Good Food Cookbook. On the page for the Peanutbutter chocolate chip cookie recipe there is a picture of the cookies broken and stuck into a bowl of ice cream. Perfect. Sunday I made the peanutbutter. We have been out of Damn Good peanutbutter for a while now so it needed to be done anyway. Monday night I made the cookies and let them sit out over night before I crumbled them up to take to the gathering. It made for a pretty delicious ice cream topping.

Damn Good Blog Everyone Should Read:  Bite Me: A Blog From Hell. Mitch Omer has started a blog about Hell’s Kitchen and, well, about Mitch Omer. It starts off with a bang.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 9:19 am

    I actually knew 2 of Mitch’s confessions because I read the book

  2. Debbie permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:45 am

    Shoot! I already had my ice cream by the time you arrived, but if I had known those were Damn Good Cookies, I’d have had made room for more!

    It was great to see you all, by the way. I hope Melanie books enough babysitting out of the event to put herself through college. 🙂

    • August 3, 2011 8:01 am

      We still have some cookie crumble left, just knock on the door and you can borrow a cup.

  3. August 3, 2011 6:44 am

    Sounds like a great neighborhood to live in!

Leave a Reply

