Skip to content

Cookie Dough with Ice Cream

July 31, 2011

For as long as my children can remember Sunday night has meant baths, watching a movie, dreading school starting again and Cookie Dough. I’m not really sure how it started. We’ve done it so long now I can’t remember if it was a conscious tradition that we started or if we just got lazy one week and stopped baking the dough. I’m guessing the former because we always use egg beaters instead of raw eggs to make it safe to eat. Tonight found us watching a movie* in our cool basement escaping the heat once again and I decided that we needed a cooled down version of our usual Sunday snack.  Cookie Dough Blizzards. I used store-bought cookie dough, which sort of goes against the tradition, but I knew it would be dense enough to hold up during the mixing in process. I combined it with most of a half-gallon of ice cream and some half and half, mixed in the stand mixer for about two minutes. It was a little more melted than I would have liked, but if it wasn’t hot I wouldn’t have been making a cold snack. (If I did it again I would probably chill the bowl first.)  I poured the mixture into glasses and we all enjoyed a delicious treat.

Damn Cheating Way to Make Hollandaise Sauce: Using a blender instead of whisking. You know who you are, Cheater.

*We watched Disney’s Chicken Little, which is a very under appreciated film in my opinion.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 6:48 am

    Looks awesome!

  2. August 1, 2011 2:29 pm

    Ha ha! We NEVER bake our cookie dough! In fact I don’t even bother with eggs at all. I just add an extra tablespoon or two of milk. However, I am very strict about the baking powder. Raw dough just doesn’t taste the same without that special zing. 😉

Leave a Reply

