Skip to content

Back To Civilization

July 26, 2011

Let us examine the dichotomy of my life. I just spent the last half hour in the internet researching truffles after eating my dinner of hamburgers and french fries. My Father-In-Law and I are talking about making a Damn Good Meal in August when we are out visiting him. I almost used the word planning, but I am not sure we are fully committed to it yet. If it all comes together this is what we are thinking:

Seared Sea Scallops on Potato Cakes with Black Truffle Hollandaise Sauce 

The idea for which I stole shamelessly from Made in Cantal. (I’m going to forgo the Foie Gras Bits. Too rich.) I have learned a bit about truffles (there are summer and winter varieties) and I have seen what they cost. What I could not find was a good estimate of how many I will need. The recipe calls for 1/4 cup of minced truffles, but they sell truffles by the ounce ( or even the partial ounce) so we are trying to figure out the conversion.

The conversation with Ed about cooking sort of jolted me back to my regular routine for planning ahead and cooking. I know it does not see like it (what with the Fancy Trout cooking and all), but I pretty much took the weekend off for the blog. It’s easy to get used to not writing anything when I stop for a couple of days. Plus, I have some ideas to cover most of the time I’ll be on vacation in August, but it requires double duty blogging ahead of time.

Tonight I am headed out to get ingredients for my Melanie’s birthday dinner. She has elected for a repeat of Shrimp Lisabeth. I’m going to cheat a little on the noodles I think and possibly on the curry powder. We’ll see how it goes.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Truffles are among the most expensive foods in the world and can command prices of up to one thousand dollars a pound and more.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 2:20 pm

    Great post, good sir!

Leave a Reply

