Skip to content

You’ve Lost That Campin’ Feeling

July 25, 2011

Since I was getting all Fancy with the Trout this year I didn’t make the meal we’ve made for the last couple of years on the DD camping trip, baked Tilapia. I decided I would make it for dinner at home just so we didn’t miss out. I used the grill instead of a pit oven, but the results were the same. As a bonus before I left on the camping trip I marinated a bunch of vegetables and decided to only take half. They complimented tonight’s fish nicely.

The recipe for the veggies isn’t very involved, but I may need to make it a few more times before I can quantify anything enough to write it down properly. David gave me this recipe and it essentially sums up like this: mix vinegar and oil together (ratio 1 : 3/4) add salt, pepper, and any other spice you think will work well. Think Italian dressing on steroids. Coat the vegetables and store overnight in the fridge. They will soften and slide right on the skewer. Roast to desired level of char. I like mine a little crispy especially the onions and peppers.

I added a bit of Hell’s Kitchen to the fish recipe by adding in the spice rub I had for the Charred Tuna. It worked very well on the Tilapia, but it didn’t really have a chance of being as delicious.

Damn Good Camping Food Leftover: Chocolate Chip Granola

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2011 3:45 pm

    You have the best titles!

  2. July 26, 2011 12:38 pm

    I absolutely love tilapia, this sounds great! I probably should know the answer to this, but have you tried monkfish? A favorite of mine! Fell in love with it when I had it at Jiko at Animal Kingdom Lodge in Disney. Then Tim even figured out the recipe for the rub they used on it, after tasting it, and re-created it back at home. Oh my goodness, so delicious.

    • July 26, 2011 1:31 pm

      I’m pretty sure Iv’e had monkfish before, but I’ve never cooked it.

Leave a Reply

