Skip to content

Gone Fishing

July 22, 2011

I am not here right now. I have in every sense of the words – gone fishing. Right now I am hopefully in a place where my iPhone doesn’t get any reception and the fish are biting. I’m a fairly amateur fisherman so I hope they are biting a lot. If not I will at least have a few cold beers and some new memories. My hope is that it goes something like this:

Rob and I are sitting on the bank with lines in the water drinking cold Sapporo after leaving the girls to set up all of the tents and get a fire started. After an hour or two of angling Rob and I have solved the worlds problems and caught a line of Trout. We hike the half mile back to the camp shelter we have reserved for the night and there is not a soul in sight along the way. The fire has burned down to coals perfect for cooking and we fry up the fish after filleting, scaling, and breading with some buttermilk, Panko bread crumbs and cornmeal. We serve it with some grilled vegetables and follow it up with some Make Your Own Ice Cream in a Bag. The next day is a glorious 74 degrees and we hike to the lake for a day of swimming and playing on the beach. Maybe we’ll play some cards.

The drive home is only half as long as the drive to get there and nobody gets ay mosquito bites or sun burned.

Recipe #113: Fancy Fried Trout and Scrambled Eggs (assuming all goes well)

Damn Good Line We Use Every Year: I wonder what the poor people are doing today.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2011 11:29 am

    It there were no mosquitos, I would camp more often.

  2. July 26, 2011 3:48 pm

    You’re here, but not here? Very cool!

  3. July 23, 2011 1:08 am

    Good luck with the fish; sounds like fun!

  4. Patti permalink
    July 22, 2011 10:00 pm

    I hope reality equaled your hope. Still want to be your daughter!

Leave a Reply

