Skip to content

I’m Just Wild About Harry

July 14, 2011

Or not. Or at least not a lot.

Almost everyone who knows me knows the story I am about to tell. All of my kids are huge Harry Potter fans and at the time of this posting Melanie is at the midnight showing of Deathly Hallows II. I on the other hand have never seen one of the Harry Potter movies in the theater. It is my own silent protest to deny Ms. Rowling that little bit extra. I realize it is insignificant, but it is the principal of the matter. You see I had a chance to read Harry Potter ahead of most folks in the States and I didn’t think much of it. I worked at a bookstore and we had been sent an Advance Reader’s copy for promotional purposes. I picked it up in the breakroom one day and read the first half of the first chapter.

Meh.*

I put it back and didn’t think about it. Fast forward to the release of the second book in the U.S. I am working at the same bookstore and there is a release party where kids will come dressed in character and we will play wizardly games to entertain the young muggles. I didn’t get it. I still hadn’t read the books because I wasn’t going to change my mind just because the books were popular. Never mind that they were so popular they redefined how books are sold. Never mind that they were so popular that kids who had never picked up a book were reading. Never mind that my daughter who read everything wanted to read them.

Wait, what?

Melanie wanted to read Harry Potter when she was six. Back then we were still new parents and we wanted to vet the book prior to her reading it. I read a few chapters each day and told her to read no further. I could not keep ahead of her and to this day I suspect she read ahead. We did this for the next few books that were already out at the time and then again with the fourth book when it came out., By the fifth book she was old enough that we didn’t need to preread them. I read them anyway – usually after her.

My opinion changed after I read the first couple books. I still am not sure why exactly they became so popular, but they are very easy to read and the world she creates is exciting without being overly horrific. I’m not going to do a book review of a series that has probably been reviewed to death, but I have read all of them and don’t regret it. I’m still not going to pay to see the movies in the theater. I have to draw the line somewhere.

Melanie on the other hand has seen all the movies in the theater and the last four movies she has seen at midnight on the day each one came out. This time she participated in a HP marathon watching all the movies in the theater leading up to the midnight showing of HP:Deathly Hallows II. (She missed some of the seven movie marathon due to prior obligations, but it is still a lot of time in the theater.) Melanie is certainly wild about Harry. As is Sarah and to a lesser extent (I believe) Max.

So, in honor of this historic theater release and to commemorate an astounding series of books and movies we lifted a pint or two. A pint of Butterbeer of course. Brewed by yours truly (with a lot of help from Sarah)  in my own Muggle Kitchen.

It was magically delicious.

Damn Appropriate Harry Potter Quote of the Day: The scar had not pained Harry for nineteen years. All Was well.

*ARCs (Advanced Reading Copies) were printed prior to the first three books.  There were between 3,000 and 5,000 of each printed, making them far more rare than any U.S. trade edition.  They now sell for between $200 and $1,000 each, depending on title and condition.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 6:26 pm

    So what was your recipe? When we went to a HP festival about a month ago, their butterbeer was 1/2 ice cream and 1/2 ginger ale. It was delicious, but probably not Wizarding World quality.

    I was never actually a huge Potterhead. I didn’t read the books until last year, actually, and thought (like you) that they were decent but not as brilliant as the hype raved. Unfortunately my sister and best friend are TOTALLY addicted, so I ended up going to the last two movie premieres with them. I watched 1-7p1 with my mom a few weeks ago (she’s just starting to read the books now). And even though the series is FULL of what could be considered Hot Fictional Guys, the only guys I actually liked are Cedric and Nevel.

    Last night’s movie was pretty good, though; I enjoyed it. Not sure if it warranted the six-hour line wait, though =/ (I did manage to beat Pokemon Pearl while we were waiting!)

  2. July 15, 2011 1:19 pm

    I’ll be there tonight, along with half the population of my sleepy hometown!
    Great post.

    • July 15, 2011 8:57 pm

      Melanie says it was good as well as some adult friends who’ve already seen it.

  3. Patti permalink
    July 14, 2011 10:57 pm

    So, does butterbeer go well with butter chicken? And has the dairy council contacted you about being a spokes person for butter?

    • July 14, 2011 11:08 pm

      And the cream. Don’t forget the cream.

      • Patti permalink
        July 15, 2011 10:32 pm

        How could l forget the cream. I’m glad I’m not your arteries!

Leave a Reply

