Skip to content

A Fungus AmongUs

July 6, 2011

One of the great things about the Mike/Mitch project is all of the new things that I get to experience. A short while ago I was planning my cooking calendar, because that is what I do with my free time, and I thought it might be time to try these morel mushrooms that Mitch goes on about. I hadn’t heard of them before and I really didn’t give it much thought. I figured these were one of those weird-looking mushrooms in the produce section that I just didn’t pay any attention to, like shiitake or Portobello. I was half right – they are weird-looking.

I did some quick research and realized I was going to be cooking with a king among mushrooms. In addition to discovering the kingly price associated with morels, the Googles informed me that they are only in season from late April until the end of May. Ack! The entire project was in jeopardy because I don’t think about the seasonality of food.

I quickly rushed out the door to Mississippi Market where fresh morels had been reported recently. Several places carry dried morels, but there are a handful of morel recipes in Damn Good Food and they specify fresh. I’ve been getting pretty loose with my substitutions lately, but Mitch seemed pretty serious about this one. Luck was with me and I didn’t have to risk disappointing Mitch I was able to find fresh morels. I bought enough for two of the recipes . OK, it was enough for one recipe and a few to fry up just to taste. The Fried Morels recipe is for a pound of morels and did I mention the kingly price? I set aside most of the mushrooms and pulled out a handful to fry up with a light flour batter.

Kira, Melanie and I enjoyed an appetizer of fried morels before our dinner that night. I’m not going to lie to you Marge they were delicious. I’m still trying to decide how much more delicious than regular fried mushrooms would have been. There is definitely a spectrum of flavor happening here, but is it exponential or merely linear.

Recipe #104: Fried Morels

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: If there’s any one great food, it’s morels.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 1:22 pm

    I love mushrooms. I bet this was worth the splurge.

  2. Janet Koplos permalink
    July 7, 2011 7:31 pm

    Way back when I was living in MN, Judy Onofrio in Rochester had a place where she picked them and got a whole black plastic garbage bag full. She invited a few dozen friends to enjoy them simply sauteed in butter. The experience of a lifetime! I also remember her raising her eyebrows and whispering “They’re so phallic!”

  3. July 7, 2011 6:14 pm

    They really are good, in spite of the price. And you did not have to pay shipping

  4. Dad permalink
    July 7, 2011 8:19 am

    Fried fungi–I know someone who would love to have those in November. (Remember, when it’s November in Minnesnowta, it’s May in Argentina! Thank goodness for World Trade!)

  5. July 6, 2011 9:26 pm

    We’ve never had fresh morels at home, hubby says they’re really hard to find around here. Damn not living in a cool town. Tim has used them in sauces before though, and they are delicious! I love all mushrooms!

  6. Patti permalink
    July 6, 2011 9:15 pm

    Welcome to the wonderful world of morels! Jerry used to be really good at hunting them back in the day…you two will have to talk next spring!

Leave a Reply

