Skip to content

The Red, White, and Blue

July 3, 2011

Chili Pepper - Praline - Browned Butter

Earlier this week a pretty lady asked me out on a date. It seems that her husband is cooking a lot of elaborate meals at home lately and they never go out anymore. I readily said yes and tried not to think too much about how I was going to write a blog post about our date. Given the upcoming Fourth of July holiday I figured I could come up with some sort of date night double entendre about seeing fireworks, but I also figured I wanted to stay married so I’m going to stick to talking about the food.

In trying to decide where our rendezvous should take place Kira and I did what any sensible Midwestern couple would do – we pulled out the coupon book. We buy a Chinook Book from every year from the school and we almost never use any of the coupons. Tonight we manged to use two of them. We ended up eating a delightfully nostalgic dinner at the Japanese noodle shop, Tanpopo. More importantly while we were looking for a place to eat dinner we came across a coupon for Sweets Bakeshop. Sweets is a small bakery in Saint Paul that specializes in French Macaroons and mini-cupcakes. The flavors for each change daily and range from Cookie Dough to Chili Pepper. They close at 6pm so we made a strategic stop at the bakery before we went to dinner. The shop felt very sparse and they give a lot of shelf space to the very colorful cookies and cupcakes for sale. Everything looked delicious, but we managed to limit ourselves to the dozen macaroons we had intended to buy. We even managed not to eat any before our meal. When we arrived they had four flavors of macaroons available: Salted Caramel (green), Chili Pepper (red),  Praline (white), and Browned Butter (blue). The decision was pretty easy – three of each flavor.

After dinner, book browsing* and coffee we made our way home and finally tasted the macaroons. We did sneak one in the car on the way home, but I thought we showed great restraint. I of course had to try the Chili Pepper first and it was quite good with a slight kick that lingered for longer than I would have thought.  I tasted all of them in pretty quick succession after we got home and I think my favorite was the salted caramel (the only one not pictured above). We enjoyed our treat while we watched a movie.  At the end of the movie I leaned over to Kira and whispered into her ear three little words, “Time to blog.”

Damn Good Blogging Milestone: I am halfway done with blogging everyday for a year.

*We always seem to end up at the bookstore at the end of our dates. We could probably get away with calling it romantic if we bought some literature or poetry, but we usually walk out with a book on mathematics.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Nora permalink
    July 3, 2011 9:58 am

    glad you guys made it to Tanpopo. I love that place!

  2. Patti permalink
    July 3, 2011 9:19 am

    This is one of the reasons I love you guys so much! You make me laugh! Your writing sounds just like you, I read it with your voice, just like they do in the movies! Thanks for the chuckle this morning!

  3. Kira permalink
    July 3, 2011 8:52 am

    You are a wonderful story teller. And it’s mostly true! 🙂

  4. July 3, 2011 8:15 am

    What a great way to incorporate dating and food into your blogging universe! Well done.

Leave a Reply

