Skip to content

License to Grill

June 28, 2011

I feel the need to be clever, but I am not feeling clever so I will just go with the facts. The facts are these. After having a great day career-wise I was able to reward myself with this amazing T-bone steak that you see above. I had planned on having steak tonight either way, but it’s nice that I can justify it.  I made the steak sauce recipe from Damn Good Food to slather over it. An interesting thing about the sauce is that you start out by mincing shiitake mushrooms and sautéing the pieces in butter. There are a lot of flavors in this steak sauce. I put in two tablespoons of  Ketchup from Hell, which had a ton of different flavors to begin with. For possibly the first time I substituted one of the ingredients in a Damn Good recipe. The recipe calls for Veal Stock and I used Beef Stock because out of the 5 grocery stores I have been in this week none of them had veal stock. It’s ok though because I checked with the international blogging goal commission and I am allowed up to three deviations. Which is good because I used all of them on this recipe. In addition to my stock switch I reduced the amount of Tabasco sauce in the recipe. The recipe called for 2 tablespoons of Tabasco in about a cup of liquid. I changed it to two teaspoons. I’m not afraid of the heat, but Tabasco has a vinegar taste that I didn’t want to prevail. Maybe it would have been OK, but I think I had the right idea. I tasted the steak sauce when it was done and all I could taste was Tabasco. I added some extra Worcestershire sauce and a bit more dark brown sugar. Oh right. The recipe calls for light brown sugar, but I was out of that because we had cookie dough on Sunday. I put in half dark brown sugar and half white granulated sugar. Problem solved.  OK, I admit it. I really went wild on this recipe. I’ve had a pretty good run these last few days, first my blog hit the front page, I helped fix a problem while on call saving a coworker hours of work, I had a great nap yesterday after dinner, I passed my test today,  and perhaps biggest of all my Hollandaise sauce didn’t break on Sunday. Maybe it all just went to my head.

Luckily I didn’t manage to screw it up and the steak sauce (and the steaks) came out tasting delicious.

Recipe #103: Homemade Steak Sauce (from Hell)

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: “…with a job in what was then the most prestigious kitchen in town, Mitch was on fire.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2011 11:17 am

    there is nothing better than a great nap, unless it’s a great t-bone steak. and you got both in one week!

  2. Dad permalink
    June 29, 2011 10:09 am

    The more I think about it, the more obvious it becomes! I’m seeing this amazing Mitch/Mike meal that is cooked to perfection to celebrate a birthday that occurs in November. Wait for it..you should be seeing it now also!

Leave a Reply

