Skip to content

Overdue Grill Notice

June 25, 2011

I was supposed to grill tonight. I bought some great pizza dough at the farmer’s market yesterday and my plan was to have a grilled Pizza Friday. I came home from work and went straight to the kitchen. I started cutting up toppings for the pizza and went outside to preheat the grill. With the grill warming I was just about to roll out the dough when the phone rang. I’m on call this weekend and it was work with a sort of emergency/thing that needed to get fixed right away.  This is the first time I’ve really had to give up any time for on call work. My job is pretty great and the company is awesome so I’m not really complaining, but it put a stop to my pizza grilling plans. There were two or three other people who got pulled into this issue and I’m pretty sure it messed up their evening more than mine. In the end I was pretty happy about the whole thing because I think we fixed the issue without having to call in more help.

Perhaps more important than not getting to grill the pizza dough, I risked not having a blog topic. Fear not, I had a plan. I would avoid this blogging travesty by grilling the Tandoori chicken for tomorrow nights Butter Chicken Battle. I quickly discovered that the chicken needed to marinate overnight so I didn’t get very far. I was quite pleased with the coloring of the marinade and it smelled very promising. I should have time to grill it tomorrow before dinner.

In case you are wondering, we still had pizza for dinner. Kira stepped in and made dinner, but she cooked the pizza the old fashioned way using the oven. It was a simple dinner with a Whole Wheat crust pizza topped with seasoned tomatoes (seasoned with salt, pepper, basil and olive oil) and then covered in shredded mozzarella cheese. Then for dessert we had fresh strawberries with Vanilla Whipped Cream. Just because we didn’t have time to grill was no reason to lower our standards.

Recipe #100: Vanilla Whipped Cream

Damn True Quote of the Day: I guess that’s what you do when you’re with Daddy. [Eat.]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2011 7:11 am

    Life always gets in the way of the pursuit of good food, right?

  2. June 25, 2011 10:54 pm

    I really need to grill pizza again. The last time we tried… well too small a grill, too many martinis and raw dough. I have a bigger grill this time, so it’d be better. I hope!

  3. June 25, 2011 10:01 pm

    I love your Mickey “dessert glass”. So cute! Home Store in Downtown Disney? I so miss having a Disney Store nearby….no where to go for cute Disney merchandise like this except for WDW.

    • June 25, 2011 10:11 pm

      We have martini glasses too, but they label them dessert glasses in the stores because they don’t sell alcohol related items. We also have a set of Disney shot glasses toothpick holders.

  4. June 25, 2011 3:07 pm

    Ugh! I so dislike being on call. Most people don’t understand how disruptive it can be.

    • June 25, 2011 10:13 pm

      It’s not so bad – they didn’t call me today so it must have worked.

Leave a Reply

