Skip to content

Just One Small Grill

June 23, 2011

Or Minute Grilling: Take Two

Before

A couple of weeks ago I brought home a contraption that lets you grill food in the microwave. Without repeating myself too much, I work for a company that may or may not have a financial interest in the Minute Griller (translation my company owns the product and is currently marketing it on a limited basis). I am getting to use it for free, but don’t let that fool you I can’t be bought for a kitchen appliance (it would take at least two kitchen appliances).  Everything I write here is my honest opinion,  keeping in mind that I am kind of rooting for the thing to work. My first experiment recipe was a grilled Reuben sandwich and it turned out just OK. This time I thought I would try something a little meatier. I went with pork chops.

After

I bought thin cut pork chops because that is what the cookbook that came with the Minute Griller recommended.  I brushed on some olive oil mixed with a little Kitchen Bouquet and sprinkled on some salt, black pepper, and sage. I “grilled” each one for 3 and a 1/2 minutes in the microwave and the results were actually quite favorable. I had a total of five chops to grill and I was only able to fit two on the grill at a time. This gave me a total microwaving time of about 13 minutes if you add in time to preheat the grill. I’m not sure this would be too much faster than just cooking them in the oven or pan frying them, but the mess and heat created was significantly less. I compare to cooking in the oven because that would be my usual method and also that is how they seemed to turn out. They were quite delicious, but they didn’t have that kissed by fire taste you can only get from truly grilling. I consider Minute Grilled pork chops a success and if I was just cooking for two people then the cook time would be amazingly short. I served the chops with potatoes fried in olive oil and rosemary, fresh green beans, and yes – applesauce.

Minute Grilling Take 2B:

I also made a quick snack for myself yesterday in the Minute Griller. I saw a recipe for making a Bird’s Nest (some people call them Toad in the Hole) and thought it would be fun to try. The kids really like these and I wanted to see how easy it was. Maybe they can make their own Bird’s Nests now.The grill gets a little hot so I don’t think small kids should attempt this, but I’m pretty sure all of my kids will be fine. The egg turned out exactly like cooking it in a frying pan and took easily half the time. The toast wasn’t as crisp as it is when I fry it, but it was close enough.

Damn Good Exclamation From My Daughter: Let’s do something Awesome Tomorrow!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dillon permalink
    June 26, 2011 2:47 pm

    We always called those “Eggs in a hat” because we toast the cut-out part of the bread and put it on top of the egg so it looks like a folded top hat.

    • Dillon permalink
      June 26, 2011 2:50 pm

      *Oops, wrong word… We don’t toast the cut-out part, we fry it in the same pan as the rest of the ingredients so that it is crispy and buttery. 🙂

  2. June 24, 2011 11:39 am

    Very cool – for a hot grill!

  3. June 23, 2011 6:15 pm

    I grew up calling those Betty Grabel eggs. I have no idea why…

  4. June 23, 2011 12:49 pm

    Looks like a George Foreman grill for the microwave, kinda. Is it supposed to be healthier or just quicker? Judging from your experience it might be better for the quick snack rather than the full meal….if you have more than two people to cook for, that is.

Leave a Reply

