Skip to content

Damn Good Brunch

June 19, 2011

Today, Kira and I, along with our friends, hosted a Damn Good Brunch for a group of people who made donations to the high school Melanie attends (and where Kira teaches). We all thought it was a good idea a couple of months ago and our friends offered to host it at their house if I agreed to do the cooking. People didn’t exactly push each other out of the way to sign up, but in the end we did manage to get 5 donaters. This plus the two couples hosting gave us a group of nine which was probably just about right. I think everyone had a good time and if I had been on the ball I would have made everyone agree to right down their impressions, but you are stuck with just mine.

I woke up at about 8:00 this morning (which is early for me without an alarm) remembering that I needed to add granulated garlic to the bag of items going with us. I tried to go back to sleep, but it was no good. We didn’t need to leave at least an hour so I fried the tortillas – ingredient number one for the Heuvos Rancheros. After I finished torturing myself and Kira with the smell of frying tortillas we gathered everything together and headed out the door. We packed three grocery bags full of the things I would need to fix the brunch. Everything from a pint of cream to a frying pan. We also took our own dishes because the Heuvos have to cook on a plate for a few minutes and we knew that our plates were oven proof. After a quick stop at the grocery store for a few last-minute items and some coffee at Caribou served to us by Ava Gabor’s great-niece we were on our way.

We arrived to find the table set up beautifully on the screened in porch and we started unloading our supplies. I quickly realized the advantages and pitfalls of cooking in someone else’s kitchen. Advantage number one was that the kitchen was cleaner than ours has been in a while. (We do try and keep up with our kitchen, but when I am dirtying every dish every other day it just isn’t possible.)  I think I adjusted to the new surroundings in a reasonable time frame and I was certainly given all the help I needed to find utensils and set the oven to the right temperature.

The first thing I did was lay out the tortillas on cookie sheets and keep them warm in the oven. This probably wasn’t needed, but better safe than sorry.  Next I fried up some perfect hash-browned potatoes (if I do say so myself). The trick is to use a mix of peanut oil and butter in the pan. While I was frying the second batch of hash browns I threw all the ingredients for Mahnomin Porridge into a pot and heated it for a few minutes. By this time guests had started to arrive. I knew the Heuvos were going to take me a little longer so we served everyone a small bowl of porridge to tide them over.

Next I scrambled the eggs, adding a little cream. I didn’t quite create fluffy pillows of heavenly delight, but it was a close thing. Not that it really matters. I know this isn’t going to make sense, but the eggs are really not that important in this dish. Once I had the eggs done I started to build the Heuvos one at a time. I did the first two very methodically, but after that I had the order of ingredients memorized and I was able to create the next six plates very quickly. Build order: Fried Tortilla, Hash Browns, Spicy Black Beans, scrambled eggs, Pepper Jack Cheese – melt everything in the oven – add sour cream and Salsa con Misho. My description of the events makes them sound quick, but it was probably an hour of cooking until I sat down at the table to join everyone.

I was hearing very pleasant comments and encouraging noises of enjoyment from the porch as I cooked. When I finally came out and sat down everyone clapped. Very cool. What followed was over two hours of great conversation with some pretty damn good food to go with it.

Damn Good Thanks of the Day: Thank You to everyone who was there today. I had a great time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 9:25 am

    Briliant plan! You should fundraise professionally.

  2. Patti permalink
    June 19, 2011 7:48 am

    You know, you had me at the porridge! Have A Damn Good Father’s Day Chef Michael!

Leave a Reply

