Skip to content

Too Damn Hot

June 17, 2011

When asked why he called his restaurant Hell’s Kitchen Mitch explains that is is not because of any biblical reference and there is no tie to the area of NYC from 34th to 59th street. It certainly isn’t because of any lame TV show. He named it Hell’s Kitchen because it is hot as hell when you are in the kitchen slaving away for the masses. I felt a little like that tonight.  The temperature reached at least 80 today and I was in my kitchen baking bread and boiling wild rice for an hour. Fortunately I was able to escape to the office to write my blog. Or at least it would be fortunate if the office wasn’t one of the warmest rooms in the house. Not sure why, it’s just a small room with little air circulation. One of the few rooms in the house without a ceiling fan.

The last time I made the sausage bread it was January and running the oven for an hour and a half made a lot more sense.

To add to the heat I think my internal temperature might be running a little high. No I am not sick, but I feel like a performer the night before the big show. I am not nervous exactly, but I do have some adrenaline and excitement when I think about cooking the brunch tomorrow. It will be a little like performing live only we get to eat when I am done. We opened up this fundraising brunch to the entire school and I was lucky enough that only people we knew opted in so I don’t have anything to be nervous about. We had a hard time filling the last few slots and at this point I believe we may have overpriced the brunch. I think because of that I want it to be a good experience for everyone who made this nice donation to my daughter’s school.

For now I am going to have a nice cold beer to help me cool off and calm down.

Damn Movie Quote that Popped into my Head: Restaurants are to people in the 80’s what theatres were to people in the 60’s. – from When Harry Met Sally

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2011 9:26 am

    I feel your pain! At least it’s a dry heat, right?

  2. Dad permalink
    June 18, 2011 5:09 pm

    Poor baby! It’s 105° here today!

    • June 18, 2011 7:11 pm

      Yeah, but it s a dry heat. Here in MN we have this thing called humidity.

Leave a Reply

