Skip to content

Onion Soup

June 12, 2011

For anyone who knows me this recipe will probably come as a surprise. It isn’t from Damn Good Food so I didn’t have to make it and I do not like onions. I’ve never had a problem with the flavor, but the texture has always been a problem for me. It either tends to be too crunchy and feels like a bug between your teeth or too slimy and feels like a worm. All of you guys who were once 8-year-old boys know what I am talking about here. But, this recipe fit in with the week I had planned and if nothing else I knew Kira would like it. The recipe is basic enough – if a little more work than I guessed.

Ingredients

  • 3 onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1 teaspoon granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1/2 cup red wine
  • 1 French baguette
  • 8 ounces sliced Swiss or Gruyère cheese

Preparation

I sliced the onions as thin as I could using a serrated knife. Since texture is my main problem with onions I usually try and cut them as small as I can when using them in a recipe. I knew mincing them wouldn’t quite work for French Onion Soup, but I could make paper thin strips if I wanted to.

I put the butter into a 4qt sauce pan on medium heat and once it was melted I whisked in the sugar. I added the onions to the sweetened butter and tried to leave them alone as much as I could. I am told that the trick to good French Onion Soup is to caramelize the onions slowly – taking up to an hour if you want to do it correctly. I didn’t have time for that, but I did simmer them for 20 minutes until they were golden brown.

Preheat Oven to 375.

Then I mixed in the flour to create an onion roux before adding the beef broth. If you can make your own beef broth more power to you, but I just use the boxed broth from the grocery store. Simmer for 10 minutes with the lid on.

Next slice four pieces of the French Bread diagonally to make large pieces. Put them on a tray in the oven for 10 minutes to create the croutons for the next step.

Raise oven temp to 425.

Ladle the soup into four 12 ounce oven-safe bowls. Place a crouton on the top of each bowl and then cover the top of the bowl with the slices of cheese.

Bake for 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Voila! French Onion Soup.

Despite my onion aversion I found the soup to be delicious. It was salty and the cheese was nice and gooey. I did have some pieces of onion left at the bottom of my bowl, but I ate most of them. A single bowl was quite filling and since the kids were not very interested in it we had a criminal amount of  soup leftover.

C’est la vie.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    June 13, 2011 8:40 pm

    Mom would love this!

Leave a Reply

