Skip to content

Dip

June 11, 2011

I am pretty sure that the Rueben is still my favorite sandwich, but for the first time ever I think it has a contender for that spot – the Hell’s Kitchen French Dip. Mitch starts off this recipe by stating that “most restaurants use sirloin…but I find prime rib just tastes better.”  Which may be the reason I have put this meal off for so long. It was originally on my cooking calendar for sometime in April, but finding and buying such a piece of meat was not as simple as running to the grocery store. I backed myself into the corner this week with my blog titles and after never seeing a prime rib roast at my neighborhood Rainbow Foods I decided it couldn’t hurt to ask. I’m pretty sure I made the butcher’s day – I don’t think they sell a lot of prime rib. I know I’ve never gone looking for it before. He went into the back and pulled out what looked to be an entire side of beef. It was in fact 7 or 8 ribs worth of rib roast still uncut. He said he could cut off two ribs for me and I accepted. I knew it would be too much, but I figured more was better than less.

Half of the Meat

The work of making the sandwich was not nearly proportionate to the amount of angst I put into buying the meat. There are exactly six ingredients for this meal:

  • Prime Rib Roast
  • Kitchen Bouquet (to make it look pretty)
  • off-the-shelf steak seasoning
  • beef broth
  • ciabatta rolls
  • and butter (duh?)
I cooked the roast the night before for a lot less time than I would have thought, but I realize now that this is a cut of meat you don’t want to overcook. It is meant to be rare.

Kira sneaks a taste

I didn’t get as much pan drippings as I expected, but it must have been enough. I mixed the few tablespoons of drippings with the beef broth and it made an incredible au jus. (In case anyone is wondering the Sweet Potato Fries tasted great in the au jus.)
Best Sandwich I have had since March 17th.
I’m not sure why I continue to allow myself to be surprised by the recipes I make out of the Damn Good Food Cookbook, but I was not expecting this to be so delicious. I’ve had French Dip sandwiches before, but it isn’t typically something I order when I go out to eat. That may have to change the next time I am at Hell’s Kitchen.

Recipe #97: French Dip

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: I don’t think this recipe can be improved upon, and believe me, I’ve tried.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 12:05 pm

    Sounds awesome!

  2. June 12, 2011 3:14 am

    Yummy.I had not eaten such a delicious meat. I became to want to go to buy high quality meat.

    • June 12, 2011 11:20 am

      I don’t normally buy such high quality, but I am glad I did.

  3. Dad permalink
    June 11, 2011 9:13 pm

    Add this to tne November menu! Yummm!

    • June 12, 2011 11:20 am

      If I do all this cooking when will we find time to go out to eat at Hell’s Kitchen.

Leave a Reply

