Skip to content

Fries

June 10, 2011

I made hamburgers for Max’s birthday dinner and to accompany them I decided to make homemade french fries. I got a deep fryer last year (for Father’s Day I think) and I’ve made fries a couple of times before. This time I wanted to try to reduce the amount of work I would need to do when I got home from work. I did some quick research and figured out what I would need to do to cut the fries ahead of time and freeze them. I blanched the potatoes last night and then I used the handy fry cutter I got with the Deep Fryer to Julienne the soft potatoes once they had cooled. Today I was able to just throw the potatoes into the fryer and they were done in about 10 minutes. I double fried them by frying for five minutes and then letting them cool for five and throwing them in again for one more minute. They still didn’t turn out as crispy as I would have liked – they look great, but are actually a little soft.  I think next time I will fry them the first time before I freeze them. This was one of the suggestions I found, but I didn’t want to break out the deep fryer last night. Here are the pictures:

I think Max had a pretty good day today, but the real fun will be next week when we take a bunch of his friends to the opening of Green Lantern.

Damn Funny Quote of the Day: I’ve been staying up late and getting up early because of my ob-BLOG-ations.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 12, 2011 12:05 pm

    The Hook’s favorite! Awesome!

  2. June 11, 2011 4:51 pm

    Love the quote. It’s oh so true for me, too!

Leave a Reply

