Skip to content

Going on a Bear Hunt

June 8, 2011

We’re going to cook a big one. What a beautiful day! They sure are scarce.

I’ve been pretty vocal for a while now about the Roast Bear Recipe in the Damn Good Food Cookbook. I’m down to the last third of my recipes and a not so surprising amount of the ones left are in the Cuisine Savage chapter of the cookbook. To date I haven’t done any work towards procuring bear meat other than complain about it to anyone who will listen. Entertaining as that may be it isn’t really getting me closer to helping me complete my goal. I decided it was time to do a little research. In this day and age everything is available via the internet so I consulted the Googles and found out a few things.

As with most things that are strange and new there is great debate about eating bear meat. There are those who swear it is a great delicacy (Mitch’s opinion as well) and those who think it smells and tastes like wet dog. In talking to people and in my searching there also seems to be some concern that selling bear meat is illegal. I couldn’t confirm this which leads me to believe it isn’t true. Except in California where I was able to confirm it is illegal to sell bear meat. Gotta love California.

I found at least one website, ExoticMeats.com,  offering bear meat. The prices ranged from $165 to Call for Price. I just don’t think I can bring myself to spend that much for what is essentially a lark I decided to start last December when I was bored and hungry.

I think my out is to cook a beef roast naked. Instead of cooking a Roast Bear I will cook a Roast bare.

Damn Good Cartoon Catchphrase of the Day: I’m smarter than the average bear.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2011 5:07 am

    Bear meat is very tasty! But, I knew the hunter, so it didn’t cost me a dime.

  2. June 8, 2011 9:15 am

    Your life sure has a great menu, my friend!

  3. June 8, 2011 9:05 am

    I think having witnesses would not be conducive to people’s appetites. I’m thinking late at night with all the curtains drawn. I think the idea occurred to me mostly because of the heat.

    • Melanie permalink
      June 9, 2011 12:21 am

      I think all of your sentences start with the same verb, conjugated differently.

  4. Patti permalink
    June 8, 2011 8:00 am

    Cute! First Brian, now you! What’s with this need to be free? Are you inviting us all over to witness this happening? I think I’m gonna be busy!

Leave a Reply

