Skip to content

In the Night Kitchen

June 3, 2011

I wasn’t cooking very late tonight, but based on my average cooking time I think it is safe to dub my kitchen a Night Kitchen. Tonight I made some wonderful smelling BBQ sauce to be used for ribs this weekend. I had to run to the store to buy liquid smoke and I am pretty certain this is the first time I have ever used this in my cooking. It was the last ingredient I added and when I poured it into the hot sauce the smokey, hickory smell hit me immediately.  I had someone over for most of the evening and it crossed my mind once or twice to grab some bread and dip into the sauce just to taste, but I got distracted by the good company and possibly by the Sapporo Premium beer.

I had thought tonight’s blog post would be written and pressed by now, but I had a last-minute guest and the night disappeared in conversation. I can’t remember the last time I spent three hours just talking. It was a long rambling exchange that covered everything from college roommates to family vacation as a kid. It was a night well spent in my opinion.

Recipe #95: BBQ Sauce

Damn Interesting Quote of the Day: Where do you buy eating snails?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2011 9:18 am

    Sounds like a great night!

  2. June 4, 2011 8:27 am

    I love evenings like that!

Leave a Reply

