Skip to content

American Galdiators

May 30, 2011

I’m not one of those people who gets offended if you want to spend your Memorial Day barbecuing and relaxing. There seems to be this sort of backlash against using this holiday as a holiday and I’m not sure where it came from. Also I’m not sure what these folks are trying to prove. What better way to celebrate our freedoms and those who fought for them than to gather with friends and family and enjoy the life they fought for. The way I figure it, Memorial day is sort of like Mother’s Day. Once a year we publicly announce what most people are feeling all year. You don’t just love your mother on Mother’s Day do you?

We are going over to our Aunt and Uncle’s house for a cookout this afternoon (or perhaps a cookin if the weather does not improve). I made the Great Napa Cabbage Salad which is a recipe I’ve been putting off because it sounded sort of ordinary. I would have made the Coleslaw recipe again, but I needed to make something new. I need to stop being surprised by how good the things I make from this cookbook taste. I think the Great in this recipe is for how good it is and not a descriptor for the cabbage as I believed. It took me less than half an hour to make and about 30 seconds to eat the small bowl I put together for myself. I had to try it, after all I didn’t want to bring a dish to the cookout that was awful. It wasn’t awful – it was delicious.

The only thing I can compare it to are the lettuce wraps at P.F. Chang’s. If you have ever had them then you know how good this salad tasted. These were not exactly like that, but they had the same sweet, nutty flavor with the crunchy cabbage as the filler. My only problem now is that I have to choose between this recipe and the coleslaw when I need a side for a BBQ.

Recipe #93: Great Napa Cabbage Salad

Damn surprising ingredient of the Day: 2 packages chicken-flavored ramen noodles, broken up

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2011 9:03 am

    Nice alternative to BBQ!

  2. Patti permalink
    May 30, 2011 9:16 pm

    And you made a great choice! This is one of my favorite salads. I also noticed that the huge bowl you brought was pretty much empty by the end of the afternoon! Once again, I stand by my original statement…you’re one damn fine cook!

    • Patti permalink
      May 30, 2011 9:16 pm

      And look, you made me swear yet again!

Trackbacks

  1. Legend of the Drunken Shrimp « 5 x 2
  2. Getting Pulled Away from Things « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

