Skip to content

Spinach Pasta

May 12, 2011

Eighty some odd recipes into this project and I’m getting a little jaded. My recipe tonight was homemade spinach pasta. I remember being very intimidated by the idea of making my own noodles just a few months ago. When I read the recipe tonight my reaction was a bit calmer. “It doesn’t look too hard.” I thought. My first thought after that, “A disaster story is much easier to write about.” The recipe was in fact not that hard. You blend spinach, eggs,  flour , and water in a food processor and then roll it out. I got no good story from this recipe, but luckily for me spinach noodles are very photogenic – and green, they are very green. Here is the big ball of dough at the beginning.

I cut this ball into four equal parts and rolled it into “squares.”

I let the squares dry for about a half an hour and then I cut each piece using my trusty pizza cutter into long noodles. Mitch says to stack the four squares and cut through them all, which seems like a good suggestion, but my dough may have been a little too wet for this to work. After seeing how much the sheets of dough stuck to each other I decided to cut each once individually. With the pizza cutter this didn’t take too long.

The noodles are drying on our kitchen table right now. I’m tempted to leave them there so the family will get a colorful surprise when they come down for breakfast, but I suppose they might get too dry.

Recipe #86: Spinach Pasta

Damn Good Food Quote of the day: The key here is to make your own pasta. There is absolutely no substitute for good homemade pasta, and it’s really not that hard.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 6:37 pm

    Very cool post! I actually feel smarter.

  2. Melanie permalink
    May 13, 2011 9:01 pm

    Jim Povolo touched those Red Vines……

  3. May 13, 2011 10:29 am

    Very nice pasta and how to make.
    Japanese buckwheat noodles is made with the similar way.

  4. May 13, 2011 6:40 am

    that first big picture looks just like the play-doh we used to play with as kids. the last picture looks like green beans.

    and yes, disasters are always better stories. but successes are better eating.

Trackbacks

  1. Kale is good as long as you can’t taste it | The A, B, C's of Dieting
  2. Tastes Like Antelope « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

