Skip to content

Parmesan-Crusted Grilled Cheese

May 11, 2011

When I was growing up a grilled cheese sandwich was two slices of wonder bread with a Kraft  American Single gloriously melted in between. It was pretty good as I recall.

The sandwiches I made tonight had four kinds of cheese. Three on the inside and one on the outside of the large slices of sour dough. You heard me – the outside! For me this was the best part. The crusty almost burnt Parmesan cheese coating the outside of the bread was so sublimely greasy and salty that I could feel my arteries hardening, but I didn’t care. I made four sandwiches knowing that two of my kids don’t like cheese. I was hungry and decided I would eat the extra sandwich if no one else would. That turned out to be a mistake because the sandwiches were so filling I almost couldn’t finish Kira’s for her after devouring my own. The last sandwich was not eaten so we’ll have to see how well they heat up. I really wanted to eat it, but it’s hours later and I am still full.

Adding the Parmesan crust really wasn’t that much extra effort and it makes the sandwich look beautiful and taste delicious. All you have to do is butter the bread, sprinkle with grated Parmesan and press the cheese into the butter with the back of a spoon. I am sure the three cheeses in the middle helped make this a great sandwich, but I think it would be nearly as good with just one type of cheese. I don’t know if a Kraft Single would do it justice, but I’m guessing it would still be pretty tasty.

I served it with French fries and a half of a fresh peach. The peach was the optimum amount of ripeness. It was soft, but not mushy, and perfectly sweet. We ate a little late because I had to cook this after I got home from work, but it was worth it.

Recipe #85: Parmesan-Crusted Grilled Cheese

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: You’ll need to cook these in two batches as the sandwiches are very, very LARGE.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 6:38 pm

    Mmm, grilled cheese!

  2. May 12, 2011 9:24 am

    OMG, that looks delish. I will make some asap.

    • May 12, 2011 2:09 pm

      Perhaps it goes without saying, but you will want to fry these in butter. Mitch instructs you to use 2 tablespoons per sandwich, that may be too much, but just coating the pan with cooking spray will not work.

  3. May 12, 2011 7:03 am

    For this recipe alone, I have to get this cookbook! Those look divine.

  4. May 11, 2011 11:24 pm

    Damn. I should never read this on an empty stomach.

Leave a Reply

