Skip to content

Getting the Job Done

May 10, 2011

I realized this week that I have been slacking off on the Mike/Mitch project. In the last two weeks I have cooked two recipes. If I maintain that rate I will need 74 weeks to complete the cookbook. I keep thinking that I have plenty of time to make these dishes in the future, but guess what – the future is now!

Because I want to show you the reader that I need to be am committed, next week I will be cooking every day. Except Thursday. Thursday I am going to Wilbur’s Sandwiches for a cub scout meeting. You don’t have to eat dinner there to attend the meeting, but Wilbur gives us a great deal and his sandwiches are delicious.* Here is what I have planned:

  • Wednesday: Parmesan-Crusted Gilled Cheese
  • Thursday: Wilbur’s Sandwiches – The Sandwich Champ!
  • Friday: Pizza from scratch. Mitch doesn’t have a pizza recipe in the book so I am going back to my friend Tom Hudgens. He has a great recipe for pizza crust and sauce. Because he is nicer than Mitch I don’t have to make the pepperoni myself.
  • Saturday: Shrimp Lisabeth
  • Sunday: Ketchup from Hell (to be used as a topping for my meatloaf)
  • Monday: Cookie Brittle
  • Tuesday: Basic Pancake Batter (My Carbon’s Golden Malted Pancake and Waffle Flour arrived today)

With sub-recipes this will be seven total recipes for one week. Or it would if I hadn’t made one of them tonight. I guess it is only six recipes next week. Either way it will put me at 90 recipes by this time next week.

Tonight I made Lib’s Chutney which will be used for the Shrimp Lisabeth on Saturday. One of the ingredients for the chutney is Sweetened Ginger puree, which I love. I grated a cup’s worth of ginger and boiled with sugar for about 20 minutes and used about a teaspoon for the chutney. No problem, I think to myslef, I’ll just put the rest of the ginger puree in the fridge and make something else with it later. As I am doing this Kira pointed out the small container of sweetened ginger puree in the back of the fridge from the last time.  If I don’t make something with this in the next few weeks can someone please remind me that I really like the flavor of sweetened ginger.

The chutney recipe calls for apricots, which are very tasty, but are not in season. I did not know this because I am merely an amateur, wannabe chef who has never given a second thought to when fruit is in season. Mostly I just buy what is on display and eat it. Usually apples or bananas. Sometimes pears, I like pears. Oh, and those Clementine things – those are good.

Luckily for me the very helpful people at Rainbow Foods (that’s food with two O’s) know that apricots won’t be in season for a couple of weeks. Because they are a soft fruit. And as any idiot knows soft fruits are not available just yet. Here’s a tip for the produce guy at Rainbow Foods (the one on Larpenteur Ave), maybe every idiot in the world doesn’t know this and you could take down the condescension a couple notches when you are talking to the paying customers of Rainbow Foods.>

My solution was to buy some dried apricots and rehydrate them. I also bought some peaches (which must not be soft enough because they were available) as a backup, but the dried apricots worked pretty well. I am not typically a fan of cooked fruit, but I haven’t had anything in Damn Good Food yet that I didn’t like so I am going to hold off any judgement until I make the Shrimp on Saturday. Looking at the photo it appears that I may have put in too many pears. Oh well, I like pears.

Recipe #84: Lib’s Chutney (In a nice cosmic coincidence the 84th recipe I made is the also the 84th recipe printed in the book. Since I am cooking the recipes in no particular order I thought that was kinda cool.)

Damn Funny Starship Quote of the Day: Damn that G.L.E.E. They’re always making twisted abominations of everything!

*This blog post is not sponsored by Wilbur’s Sandwiches, nor should it be because they are already helping out the scouts by giving us a deal on great food and providing a meeting space. Which does not mean I would turn down free sandwiches in exchange for mentioning them again in the future.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet Koplos permalink
    May 11, 2011 8:38 pm

    My experience is that you can ALMOST get any fruit or vegetable at any time, because it’s sure to be in season somewhere. It just has to be flown in and has such a terrible carbon footprint that you’ll never forgive yourself.

  2. May 11, 2011 10:40 am

    You’re a busy boy! Happy cooking. Oh, by the way, I’m hungry again!

  3. May 11, 2011 10:08 am

    Hopefully produce guy’s boss will see this. I have visions of sneaking code into their system so every time produce is rung up, the words “produce guys are idiots” appears with the price. Too bad I don’t really know how to hack!

  4. May 11, 2011 6:41 am

    and i screwed up my coding and put everything in italics. ah well, it just shows how fervently i meant my comment.

  5. May 11, 2011 6:41 am

    a) those Clementine things are good.

    b) nobody who works at Rainbow has any right to be snobbish about anything. i’ve shopped there. i know.

Leave a Reply

