Skip to content

The Jar of Syrup is Half Empty

April 23, 2011

I’ll start with the punchline. Fried Oatmeal is delicious.

It is also easy provided you’ve made some oatmeal the day before. I started by taking the cakes of oatmeal out of the fridge and slicing them into bread width. The oats had compressed more than I anticipated so they ended up looking more like sticks of oatmeal than slices. I made two loaves and for the second one I floured the knife first before I cut it, because (and maybe you already knew this) oatmeal is kinda sticky.

After dusting them with flour I then fried the sticks of oatmeal in butter. Since I know a lot of people who ate these today I am not going to disclose how much butter was used. I’m just going to say more than a teaspoon.

After several minutes I flipped them and fried the other side.

I made these today to take to our annual egg hunt brunch, but I knew that I couldn’t take them over there without trying them first. I grabbed three pieces and laid them on a plate. I spooned some syrup over them and then I got inspired by the banana sitting on the counter. I sliced up the banana and threw on several slices along with a handful of walnuts. I sat down to enjoy my pre-brunch of fried oatmeal with bananas and walnuts along with a large glass of iced coffee. As stated previously it was pretty damn delicious. The banana and walnuts were superfluous, but they did make the picture look pretty.

After eating the first oatmeal bar I decided I really liked the syrup so I added a bit more. Then I added a little more syrup  for the last bar because I had sopped up all the extra on the plate with the previous two. Inspiration struck for the second time that morning and I added some syrup to my iced coffee. The syrup is just sugar, vanilla, and water. It tasted great in the iced coffee. I added more.

At this point I looked down at the pint jar of syrup. The jar of syrup that I needed to take with me to the brunch in about an hour. Some might say that the jar was now half full of syrup. I am not one of those people. I looked at the amount of syrup I had and decided it would not be enough. I reached for the Damn Good Cookbook and glanced over the syrup recipe to see how long it would take. I knew from making it the first time that it takes about three times as long as Mitch says. Mitch says to boil the sugar and water for about 5-7 minutes. After 5-7 minutes you do not have syrup, you have sugar water. Still, I had over an hour before we needed to leave so I whipped up another pint of homemade syrup.

We came home from the brunch with almost exactly a pint of syrup. Maybe that was my plan all along.

Recipe #81: Fried Oatmeal

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: The patties fry up crisp on the outside, but they’re warm and familiar on the inside.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2011 5:17 pm

    The wonders of food never cease to amaze, right?

  2. Nora permalink
    April 24, 2011 7:17 am

    They were repeatedly mistaken for french toast sticks at the brunch but those of us in the know made sure not to miss the fried oatmeal. It was very satisfying and deelish.

  3. michael permalink
    April 23, 2011 9:39 pm

    yum!

Leave a Reply

