Skip to content

Batman

April 19, 2011

For all of this week and next week I am the first responder for software support issues. At my company this role is known as the Batman. I won’t lie, when I heard about this in the interview I thought it was geekishly clever. There have been jokes about building a bat signal and if a second person gets pulled in to help they are invariably called Robin. I considered changing my desktop wallpaper to be something Batmanesque for the next couple weeks. In short I thought it was all quite amusing.

No issues came in yesterday and I started thinking this was going to be a good gig. Then today happened. Or at least I think it happened. I looked at my watch around 10:15 and then suddenly it was 5:30. At one point an error was sending out an alert every seven minutes until I finally deleted the offending record. I’m making it sound worse than it was, but it’s been a while since I’ve had to put out any fires. It was a jarring shift in gears.

Wrong Damn Line to Quote when you are going to help an end user: Why so serious?



Find Out Next Week which recipe marks the halfway point of the Mike/Mitch Project. Same Damn Time. Same Damn Good Blog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 8:48 am

    What are you doing? A superhero’s secret identiy is to be protected at all costs!

    • April 20, 2011 9:00 am

      We change the identity on a regular basis to keep the villains users guessing.

  2. April 20, 2011 5:59 am

    It’s been a long time for me to have to be on call, also. Never a dull moment. End users seem to have no sense of humour when something goes wrong…

Leave a Reply

