Skip to content

Riptides

April 16, 2011

Our family was pulled in a lot of directions today. Today we had skating lessons, half marathon training, a baby shower for Kira’s cousin, and Max was at a birthday party for his friend. Luckily we have a hard and fast rule that we all come together as a family and eat dinner together. Unless of course someone has robotics club, parent conferences, needs to work late, or other real life events. It’s more of a guideline, really.

Of course it helps to come together for dinner when we are having delicious Turkey Clubhouse Sandwiches. Cooking bacon for almost an hour and carefully building these double-decker sandwiches took some time so to tide myself over I had to eat a little bit of the turkey. (I was up past 1am basting the turkey and when I put it away I was too tired to try any.) While the toast was toasting I sliced off a piece of turkey and popped it into my mouth.It was pretty tasty straight from the fridge, but I decided to heat up a small piece and it was amazing. It was salty and tender and I can’t wait to have some of the leftover turkey with some stuffing and cranberries.

I enjoyed making this meal because I was able to make some variation for almost everyone in the family. Kira and I had the full Clubhouse sandwich. Max did too, but I held back on the mayo, lettuce and tomato. He still had some on his sandwich and he ate the whole thing – about halfway through he even asked for a second sandwich. He liked the double-deckerness of the thing and the toothpicks running through. Melanie ate a double-decker lettuce and tomato sandwich, but only wanted it after she was assured it had homemade mayo on it.

Hell’s Kitchen serves the sandwich with sweet potato fries, which I was able to find some delicious Alexia sweet potato fries easily in my grocers freezer section. To wash it down I got some IBC cream soda.

Recipe #77: Baked Brined Turkey Breast

Recipe #78: Turkey Clubhouse Sandwich

Damn Good Description of the Day: “It’s a BLT on the first floor with Turkey and lettuce upstairs.”

Today’s blog was brought to you by All Natural Alexia food products and IBC Root Beer. Or at least it could be if they wanted to send me some free root beer and French fries. I’m just sayin’.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 8:50 am

    Very yummy post! Well done!

  2. Michael Donnelly permalink
    April 17, 2011 12:36 pm

    Now that I have gotten “current” with the latest blog entries, it behooves your to realize that, as Patriarch of the Clan, I have decided that no one else will ever need to be involved with cooking duties at are biannual family vacations! You’ve also earned the distinction of proving you are capable of shopping for all 10 of the Horde and, literally, coming home with the bacon!
    Maybe the next vacation should be at Como Park so you’ll have all your treasured utensils and can make things such as marmalade, peanut butter, corned beef, brined turkey, mayo, etc., in advance! Yes, I think that will work….Start working on recipes for next August…
    While I’m thinking of it, I’ll expect corned beef hash for Sunday brunch on our November visit. We’ll let you pick for the rest of the meals!

    Dad

    • April 17, 2011 2:09 pm

      Corned Beef Hash it is. Keep in mind that this will fulfill your sodium intake for your entire visit.

      • Michael Donnelly permalink
        April 23, 2011 1:27 pm

        One word–hydrochlorothiazide!

  3. April 17, 2011 6:47 am

    Looks and sounds awesome. I’m just not sure of a salty tasting turkey.

  4. April 17, 2011 4:09 am

    Those sandwiches look so yummy and now my mouth waters over them

Leave a Reply

