Skip to content

Crazy Like a Fox

April 14, 2011

Tonight I started making some sandwiches for our Saturday night dinner. Crazy, but hopefully delicious. I mixed up some brine and put it in a large ziplock bag with a boneless turkey breast. In two days I will have a brined turkey breast to use for Mitch’s Turkey Clubhouse Sandwich. It’s a quicker turn around than the corned beef so it doesn’t seem like that big of a deal. My favorite sandwich is a Reuben, but the club has to be a close second. It includes bacon which gives it lots of points and it is the only double decker sandwich that I know of.

It was an easy day in the world of the Mike/Mitch project.  (Which is not the same thing as an easy day in the world of Mike, but that isn’t why you are here.) To recap: I mixed some salt and water and put a large chunk of meat in the water. I did spend some time on the Cooking Calendar and you expect to see from Damn Good Food Special Occasion Goulash, French Dips, and Fancy Fried Trout. From my own repertoire I am going to sneak in some Indian Butter Chicken in the coming weeks. Look for the Butter chicken subpage to appear soon which explains that whole saga.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Most of you, I’m assuming, will use store-bought deli meat for this sandwich. But I would love the idea that someone out there, somewhere, is making it with meat from a brined turkey breast.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2011 10:17 am

    I REALLY wish I could cook!

  2. April 15, 2011 9:04 am

    next up: brine a raw turkey for thanksgiving dinner. i did that one year and the whole house filled up with smoke. a problem in november, when you don’t really want to open the windows. but the recipe is great fun to read–witty, funny, with elegant asides. and the turkey was delicious.

    http://lifewiththreedogs.blogspot.com/2007/11/jonathan-reynolds-brined-turkey.html

  3. April 15, 2011 8:45 am

    Where on earth did you dig up this old clip?! If I have to choose between club or reuben. Reuben hands down! Yumm! Reuben on the brain, how will I ever concentrate on my work now! 🙂

  4. Patti permalink
    April 14, 2011 11:13 pm

    I get this one…old TV shows.

Leave a Reply

