Skip to content

Dopey

April 11, 2011

As a service to those of us trying to write a blog everyday WordPress has a blog called The Daily Post, where they give at least one idea every day on something you can write about. It’s less of an assignment and more of a jumping off point if you’ve got writers block. I usually check it out each day and even though I’ve probably only used the raw idea once or twice I’ve used it to get me thinking dozens of times. A few days ago The Daily Post reminded us that the blog was supposed to be more of a group effort and asked us to submit ideas. In my usual sarcastic mode I suggested that we “needed more topics about bacon.” Imagine my surprise when I saw this post early in the day:

Topic #96:

Write about something to do with bacon. Do you like it? hate it? Wish there more of it, or less? Do you like the way it looks, or do you wish you never saw it again? What do you think of bacon flavored chocolate, or the significance of the phrase “brining home the bacon?”

I was even given credit for the idea and it has brought a few new readers to the blog. Hello, New Readers. I have spent the last hour reading about and drooling over bacon. Since it was my idea I knew that I had to come home and write about bacon tonight.

To start with bacon flavored chocolate is just OK. It’s got that whole salty sweet thing going for it, but you couldn’t really taste the bacon. I got some a couple years ago because it was included in my Bacon-of-the-Month package. FYI: Bacon-of-theMonth = Best gift idea ever.

We keep bacon on hand at all times because it is a staple (like cream and butter). When I got home, without knowing what was for dinner, I cooked up a few slices. After all bacon goes with anything and worst case I could just, well, eat it straight. Soon the kitchen was wafting with the savory aroma of Applewood Smoked bacon and before dinner was done cooking I had three beautiful pieces of crispy bacon.

According to Mitch there is only one type of bacon and that is Nueske’s Applewood Smoked Bacon. In full disclosure the bacon I used tonight was a different brand that I bought for comparison. It compares very well. I also cheated a little because I cooked the bacon on the stove top. To be done correctly the bacon should be cooked in the oven, but that takes almost an hour and the skillet makes for a much nicer picture.

Tonight for dinner we were having Chicken Patty Sandwiches , which I will grant you does not sound too exciting. Add a little bacon and some Famous Dave’s BBQ sauce and you’ve got quite the meal.

Recipe ∞: Bacon!

Damn Good Advertising Slogan: Bacon. It’s so good you can put it on a salad.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 12:20 pm

    That was your idea? Well done!

  2. Patti permalink
    April 12, 2011 12:36 pm

    I suppose you don’t want to hear what I heard about the correlation between bacon and
    Alzhiemers (sp) then do you? But I to love me some bacon…Nana loved it cut thick and fried crisp!

  3. April 11, 2011 11:04 pm

    Yay for bacon!! I love that it made it as a daily post topic, as ridiculous as it sounded at first. I have been reading a bunch of great posts about bacon all day and my mouth is watering 🙂

Leave a Reply

