Skip to content

Happy

April 9, 2011

I had everything prepared, the tomatillo salsa was made, the cheese and spinach shredded, wine bubbling on the stove to start the reduction. I was cutting up the lobster to put it in the pan and it suddenly occurred to me that I didn’t know how to cook lobster.

The recipe was clear on the steps, but a big part of cooking is being able to tell what stage the food is at without exact timing.When I cook many of the recipes I just follow it exactly and figure if it doesn’t quite work I can adjust when/if I make the recipe again. The price of the lobster sort of made this a one time thing or at least a very infrequent thing so I wanted to get it right the first time.

I needn’t have worried. In the end the lobster was maybe a little overcooked, but the tacos were delicious. Other than my uncertainty with the lobster the dish wasn’t too difficult. What really made it was the tomatillo salsa and we all agreed that the tacos could probably be made with some other type of seafood like shrimp, crab, or tilapia.

Kira’s aunt and uncle came over to help us eat the tacos and I’m pretty sure nobody went hungry. Just to make sure everyone was completely stuffed we brought back the Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes for an encore performance.

Recipe #71: Tomatillo Salsa

Recipe #72: Lobster Tacos

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Patti permalink
    April 12, 2011 12:38 pm

    My mouth still waters when I just look at the picture here!

  2. April 10, 2011 2:25 pm

    I’m pretty sure nobody went hungry either! Good job!

  3. April 10, 2011 10:42 am

    ‘Tis the voice of the lobster
    I heard him declare,
    “You have baked me too brown;
    I must sugar my hair.”

    those cupcakes truly do look da bomb.

  4. Patti permalink
    April 10, 2011 7:48 am

    Amazingly delicious tacos, prepared by a barefooted chef, served by one of the happiest servers I’ve ever seen, and eaten with one of my favorite families made last night not notch! Thanks Donnellys!

Leave a Reply

