Skip to content

Sneezy

April 7, 2011

I am making Peanut butter for the 5th time (6th time)…I don’t know. Anyway I am making peanut butter. I had to look at the recipe once or twice, but I think I am getting the hang of it. If you had told me a year ago that I would be someone who makes their own peanut butter I would have said you were insane.

When I was in college I used to write a lot of letters. For my younger readers, letters are words written on paper that you folded up and sent using the postal system. Of course I would have to explain what paper and postal system means for that to make any sense to you. Just pretend I am using the word email whenever you see the word letter. I always hated when I would sit down to write a letter and their was nothing going on. You get that paragraph of things like, “I had the peanut butter Captain Crunch this morning because they were out of Crunch Berries and then I decided to get a cup of coffee.Nothing really going on here, what’s new with you?”

I feel that I have reached that point in the blog. There just isn’t much going on to write about. The job is going well and the kids are all healthy. I could tell you all about Melanie’s Parent/Teacher conference, but I prefer that she doesn’t hate me. We have arrived at the doldrums of my blog. Maybe it is because I am making old recipes. Maybe it is because I just can’t think of anything. Maybe something exciting will happen tomorrow.

I’m quite tired again tonight. For those of you who think that my tiredness may be related to the title of this blog post I should inform you that I don’t get sick.

I. Don’t. Get. Sick.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Dillon permalink
    April 8, 2011 10:17 am

    Paper is that stuff that the printer spits out at you when you click the “print” button, right? 🙂 Actually, I do enjoy writing letters from time to time, but it has to be to someone special, and it can’t be time sensitive. Of course, my address book (which is on my computer) is full of email addresses, not mailing addresses, so that adds an extra layer of difficulty to sending letters too…

  2. April 8, 2011 6:41 am

    You’re doing a great job Mike. It’s hard. I know! I slacked for a bit when life got in the way.

    And – I’ve been sneezing like crazy the past two days and have been crazy congested. I think I’m sick because I don’t get allergies – but I’d rather be sick then all of a sudden develop allergies!

    • April 8, 2011 8:00 am

      Thanks for the support. The thought of spontaneously getting allergies had never occurred to me, I’m not too concerned though because I don’t get allergies either.

  3. April 8, 2011 5:30 am

    I understand exactly what you’re saying Mike. I really want to stick with the challenge for the whole year, but when I can’t think of anything to post about, I think my posts end up sucking big time!

    I don’t know what it’s like in your area, but here in Virginia, the flu has ramped up AND it’s allergy season. Seems like everyone here is sneezing. You. Won’t. Get. Sick.

  4. April 7, 2011 9:54 pm

    when i started my blog, i figured i had to write every single day. but some days i didn’t feel like it. some days i didn’t have anything to say. i say, give it a rest if you’re tired and (not) sick, and write when you feel like it. i suspect we all have you in our bloglines or google readers, and when you post, we’ll know.

    and i think you need to learn to make your own jelly, to go with all that peanut butter.

    • April 7, 2011 10:43 pm

      I’m kind of on a streak and the goal is to post every day this year. Given the size of my readership it is more for me than anyone else.

    • April 8, 2011 7:55 am

      There is a jam recipe in there too. I should definitely look at that. The thing with Mitch’s peanut butter is that it is usually so sweet it doesn’t need anything else in the sandwich. Just a big glass of milk to go with it.

Leave a Reply

