Skip to content

Be My Guest

March 16, 2011

The post tonight was supposed to just be an introduction/explanation for the next six posts, but I am doing a lot of cooking tonight so I will probably talk about that too. I am going on vacation next week and I think I am looking forward to the break in cooking and blogging more than I am the break from work. I have been planning (and I use that term loosely) to have guests do my blogging for the next six days while I am traveling and relaxing. I will blog for the second half of the trip, because I will probably in withdrawls by then. So for the last several weeks I have been bribing and cajoling my friends, neighbors and relatives into writing about cooking and/or eating a Damn Good Meal. I’ll try and introduce each of my guests at the top of each post, but the rest of the words will be theirs.

The kitchen currently smells like corned beef. It has been slow roasting for about 2 hours now and should be done in another hour. I’m still trying to decide how I want to slice it for the sandwiches, but I don’t think it will matter much given how good it smells. The Rueben recipe calls for shaved, but I may not have the patience for that. The sub-recipe for the corned beef says to pull the meat apart, but that is because you use the same Corned Beef recipe for Corned Beef Hash. As I said, I’m pretty sure it isn’t going to matter. just needs to be thin enough to bite through.

Since I don’t think the sauerkraut is going to be edible I’m glad I had the coleslaw planned as a side. This way we still get our Corned Beef and Cabbage meal for St. Patty’s Day. Making the coleslaw was pretty straight forward. I was a lot more careful about coring and shredding the cabbage this time around since I think part of my problem with the sauerkraut is that the pieces were too big. Officially the coleslaw isn’t ready until it has been refrigerated overnight, but I tasted it anyway. Delicious.

As an added bonus I only used about half of the homemade coleslaw dressing. I threw it in the fridge to make another batch in the future. If I buy a bag of shredded cabbage I can have homemade coleslaw in about 5 minutes.

And then there is the Rye Bread. I did come home for work today for about 20 minutes and made the rye dough. the starter wasn’t quite as springy as it was the second time I made it (the one that got cooked), but it had definitely gotten bigger. When I got home from work I checked the dough and it has risen a little, but seems like it should be bigger at 10 hours. I am going to push through and make the bread, but I bought a loaf of rye bread from the store just in case.

Recipe #64: Garlic Coleslaw

Recipe #65: Corned Beef

Recipe #66: Caraway Rye Bread

Damn Good Quote of the Day: If you could just get the smells on the blog you would have tons of readers.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 8:26 am

    if my brother hadn’t unexpectedly shown up last night and ruined my evening by forcing me to drink wine and gossip and stay up until midnight, i would have made you and kira a loaf of irish soda bread for tonight’s dinner.

    no point in making it tonight–i think i get home from work after you’ve already eaten. but consider this a rain check—

  2. March 17, 2011 7:12 am

    Have a great vacation Mike!

  3. Patti permalink
    March 17, 2011 7:07 am

    So you actually think those folks in Florida won’t ask you to cook? Good luck with that!

    Have a safe trip, and have fun!

    • March 17, 2011 8:12 am

      I’m taking everything I need to make mahnomin porridge and I’m cooking the caviar blinis with my friend “tim” while I am there, but I will not be writing another blog post until next Wednesday.

  4. March 17, 2011 1:18 am

    I just caught up on your blog after a few days and your math-related titles made me laugh SO HARD. Rise over bun? Sines of Obsession? 10 Different Recipes? (I’d already read the post, but it took me a minute to get the binary reference.) Easy as Pi?

    Just typing them makes me laugh. So. Nerdy.

    The pies made me drool, as did the 1005 digits of pi your daughter’s memorized (I could only get up to 60!). And the granola-covered portrait was genius…. I might have to do something of the sort.

    Enjoy your vacation and brief cooking/blogging hiatus…. May your guest posting go more successfully than mine! 🙂

    • March 17, 2011 1:34 am

      I had one more title that I wanted to use, but I couldn’t figure out how to shoe horn a blog article into it:

      For a Good Prime Call

Leave a Reply

