Skip to content

Mitch Has 10 Different Peanut Butter Recipes

March 11, 2011

…the one in the book and the correct one.

 

I made some more peanut butter again tonight. It was already on my list to make some more peanut butter to take on our upcoming trip to Florida, but I didn’t expect it to be a different recipe.

Let’s back up to the beginning, shall we.

This is the third time I have made Mitch’s World-Famous Peanut Butter. I made it once before starting the blog and I made it again a few weeks ago. The first time I burnt the peanuts because I followed the recipe in the book. The second time I knew better and I thought it turned out great, but it didn’t quite taste like what you would get at the restaurant. This past Monday I went to dinner at  Hell’s Kitchen. While I was there I may have mentioned to one of the staff that I was cooking my way through the cookbook and writing a little blog about the whole thing. He exclaimed that Mitch would “get a kick out of that” which gave me the chutzpah to jot down the URL for him. My message must have been passed on because yesterday I noticed that Mitch Omer was following me on Twitter. I don’t think Mitch is very into Twitter, but he does have an account. He follows about 15 people all of whom are in the cooking world. He has exactly one Tweet and it reads as follows:

How !@#$%^&* cool is that? I then used my vast knowledge of the internet to find his email address on the contacts page of hellskitcheninc.com. The next day I received an email with an attachment apologizing for the screw up and providing the correct recipe. I am pretty sure that if you buy the cookbook today it comes with this letter stashed in the book on the page with the peanut butter recipe.

With the new recipe in hand I went out and bought some peanuts tonight to turn into peanut butter. I roasted them and mixed in the appropriate stuff as directed by the new recipe. The result did seem more like the peanut butter they put at your table when you eat in the restaurant, but truth be told it seemed a little runny. I was making a triple batch and for the third portion I didn’t add as much butter as the recipe called for and then mixed that batch into the previous two. Much better consistency in my opinion, but I’ve always liked crunchy vs creamy. I now have enough peanut butter for my multiple brunches over the weekend and to take with us on vacation.

Recipe Redux: Mitch’s World-Famous Peanut Butter

Damn Good Correction Letter Quote of the Day: Just what the hell happened here remains unclear, but as it is, this recipe isn’t even close.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2011 7:37 am

    making your own peanut butter is totally crossing the chili line. but i’m glad mitch fessed up to having a flawed recipe in his book. (i wonder how that happened?)

  2. March 11, 2011 8:10 pm

    Peanut butter is one of the four major food groups, along with chocolate, ice cream, and beer.

  3. March 11, 2011 5:58 pm

    Wow, that’s amazing! It’s really neat he tweeted you 🙂

    Glad you got the recipe sorted out… Good stuff.

  4. Kira permalink
    March 11, 2011 6:50 am

    I think the smell of roasting peanuts is divine. You should make peanut butter every week!

Leave a Reply

