Skip to content

Putting Down Square Roots

March 9, 2011

I added the brine to the corned beef tonight, but not a lot of cooking involved there. Now I just have to remember to flip it once a day. I am drawing a blank on what to write about tonight so I am resorting to answering one of the Postaday questions that provide blog topics.

Where did you grow up?

I’ll start off by saying that I am what is affectionately known in the military community as a brat. My father was a pilot in the Air Force and we moved several times while I was growing up. We probably lived “on base” for about half of my childhood and living on military bases provides its own sort of consistency. Both of my parents grew up in Philadelphia, PA and I still have extended family there. I never lived there, but growing up Philly was typically where I told people I was from. As an adult I am a die-hard Phillies guy (at least to the extent that I am a baseball fan at all). I love scrapple, birch beer and Tasty Kakes. Also if anyone knows where to get a REAL Philly Cheesesteak in the Twin Cities please tell me.

I was born in Selma, AL, but I don’t remember much about living there. When I was four we moved to upstate New York, a little city about 45 miles south-west of Syracuse called Rome. We lived there for four more years and then moved back to Alabama, but this time it was to Montgomery. Four more years and another move to Altus, OK. Altus is about 150 miles from Oklahoma City and about a million miles from nowhere. I started High School in Altus and went to two different schools there. My Junior year of high school was in Pacific Grove California. Our house was within walking distance of Pebble Beach and it was a great place to be a teenager. The next year we moved to Tokyo , Japan and I graduated from ASIJ (The American School in Japan). The move to Japan was a big turning point in my life and that is where I made a lot of the friends I have to this day and also where I met my wife.

Skip ahead a few years and we are now living in Saint Paul, MN, which is the simple answer my kids will have to this question.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: The Omer family moved from Des Moines to Minneapolis in the early seventies.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Anthony permalink
    March 14, 2011 12:16 pm

    I was born and raised in Philadelphia and just moved to the Twin Cities. I still have yet to find a real philly cheesesteak, and have tried just about everywhere. From what I hear, the best can be found at the state fair, but I haven’t had the chance to try that yet. Uncle Franky’s is decent – the roll is just not right, but that’s probably the closest I have found to date.

  2. March 10, 2011 1:02 pm

    I grew up in Baltimore and I love scrapple, birch beer and Tasty Kakes, too. B’more and Philly must be sister cities or something. Do you know how many people have never heard of scrapple? Or the number of people who won’t eat it when they find out why it’s called scrapple…

Leave a Reply

