Skip to content

Fat

March 9, 2011

So how unhealthy does a meal have to be before Mitch Omer tells you to trim the fat? I started the Corned Beef tonight and the first direction is to “trim some (not all) of the excess fat.” I like to believe that Mitch doesn’t tell people to trim the fat for health reasons, but rather for quality of the end result. There was a lot of fat on the brisket and I am sure it would have made for some tough chewing. Anyone who fries their toast in bacon grease can’t be worried about a little extra fat on the brisket.

I’m a bit behind because I had planned on starting the Corned Beef over the weekend, but my busy life has caused my cooking calendar to slip a little. The beef brisket has to brine for seven days which means I will be cutting things a little close. I’m going to need to run out tomorrow and buy some curing salt so I can start the brining, but luckily for me tonight I only had to marinate.

My sauerkraut is sauering very well (krauting very well?). It is day four and it still looks like shredded cabbage. I’m don’t think I put in enough brine. the recipe only calls for a cup, but it also calls for one head of cabbage which is subjective. Worst case we’ll use store-bought sauerkraut and I’ll try to make the sauerkraut again once we get into summer and start grilling brats.

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Why is it called corned beef if it didn’t originate in Iowa?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2011 12:35 pm

    So, why is it called corned beef? The pebble like salt used to cure the beef were referred to as ‘corns of salt’ in Old English. I guess they resembled corn. Don’t ask me how I know this. It’s just one of the many useless, trivial things that has stuck in my mind over the years.

  2. Mary Jo Koplos permalink
    March 10, 2011 9:22 am

    Don’t know if you want to go to Rosemount for a Philly cheesesteak (although it is decidedly closer than, well…Philly) but this might be a source:
    http://eagan.patch.com/articles/bites-nearby-from-pizza-to-burgers-to-gyros-tops-is-tops

  3. March 9, 2011 8:01 am

    Man, this makes me crave German food. I love a good sauerkraut.

Leave a Reply

