Skip to content

The Saga Begins

March 2, 2011

I started preparing dinner tonight for Saint Patrick’s Day. Here is what I am making:

Rueben Sandwiches

  • 8 thick slices of Caraway Rye Bread (see recipe)
  • 8 tablespoons Thousand Island Dressing (see recipe)
  • 8 thick (2-ounce) slices of Swiss cheese
  • 1 3/4 pounds shaved Corned Beef (see recipe)
  • 1 pound Sauerkraut (see recipe)

I’m not sure what Mitch has against making his own cheese – what a slacker. Lucky for me many of these take a week or two to make so I can spread out the work. Tonight I began the sauerkraut. I started with the easy one. The recipe is cabbage, water, salt and time. It should be ready in about a week and will keep nicely in the fridge until well past March 17th.  The Reubens are the only recipe in the Damn Good Food cookbook that has four sub-recipes (even the lasagna only had two), but it was sort of a no-brainer to make this recipe for St Patty’s day. As an added bonus I’ll get to make Corned Beef Hash with fresh corned beef.

Recipe #55: Sauerkraut

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: The true history of the Rueben – or Reuben, its spelling being rather arbitrary – is unknown.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 11:19 am

    Slacker….funny! Oh my gosh! I haven’t had Corned Beef Hash in like forever! Now I’m hungry, thanks a lot. Where do I go for Corned Beef Hash? Even more important, who do I call for delivery?

Trackbacks

  1. Like a Blog « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

