Skip to content

I Will Gladly Pay You Tuesday for a Bison Burger Today

March 1, 2011

These burgers were definitely not wimpy. The bison meat with the wet jerk seasoning combined with the pineapple to create the perfect blend of sweet and spicy. I don’t think I have ever had a more enjoyable hamburger. (A possible exception to this is an In-N-Out Double Double consumed after running the Disneyland Half Marathon, but there were other factors at play.)

I have put off many of the recipes in Damn Good Food because they require grilling, but the temperature rose to almost 40° today so it was time to grill. Unfortunately our grill did not make it into the garage this year before the big snow storms hit. We tried to rescue it last weekend during a brief break in the snow, but I think the cold and wet did some permanent damage. Tonight when I got home from work I dug a path to the snowed in garage door and pulled out the grill. I got it to light for a few seconds, but it blew out quickly and then wouldn’t light again. Probably because all the gas was leaking out from one of the connections. I immediately turned it off and went in to cook the burgers on the stove. It was a sad beginning, but did not effect the outcome.

Not as sexy as an open flame, but it got the job done. The bison burgers are slathered in the wet jerk seasoning and the pineapple is coated with the dry jerk seasoning (on the side that is being “grilled”). Pepper Jack cheese is melted onto the burgers in case the Habaneros in the jerk seasoning don’t offer enough kick. I think I cut the pineapple a little thicker than was called for, but it worked out just fine.

The last few recipes have been damn good food, but these burgers are damn great food. I was beginning  to worry that my expectations for amazing food were getting in the way of my enjoyment of what I was making, but these burgers cured me of that. They are so good and Kira took so many amazing pictures that I am going to add one more.

Recipe #53: Bison Burger

Recipe #54: Jamaican Jerk Burger

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Nothing beats cooking burgers over an open flame, whether it’s wood, charcoal, or gas. But in a pinch, a cast iron skillet will do a fine job.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 7:21 am

    A bison burger? Wonder how that tastes?

    • March 6, 2011 8:21 pm

      The bison meat is pretty good it has just a little more flavor than beef, but isn’t really that much different. Supposed to be better for you too, but I’m not sure that is true the way I cook it.

  2. March 2, 2011 12:33 pm

    oh, man. oh man oh man oh man.

  3. March 2, 2011 12:27 pm

    I’m with Seashell. Who knew pineapples and burger, together? What a dish! Looks delish! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. March 2, 2011 9:06 am

    I love the idea of the sweet and spicy! I never thought to use pineapple.

Trackbacks

  1. Many Memorable Meals « The Mike/Mitch Project

Leave a Reply

