Skip to content

7 Blogs About Food

February 16, 2011

If you Google Mitch Omer you don’t have to go too far down the page to find a reference to peanut butter. It was one of the first things I learned about Hell’s kitchen and I know it was the first item I tasted from the restaurant. My wife came home with a jar of Hell’s Kitchen Peanut Butter after going there with her class on a school field trip. This was a few years ago and before the cookbook was in existence.  It was really good peanut butter. I ate the whole jar, but I didn’t really think much more about it. Much later we went down to Hell’s Kitchen for a Sunday brunch and I became a huge fan.

I must confess that this is one of the few recipes I attempted last year before I started the blog. The result was pretty tasty, but it didn’t quite turn into peanut butter it was more like peanut crumble. It tasted great even though I burnt the peanuts a little, but you couldn’t really spread it on toast. I ate most of it with a spoon out of the bowl I was storing it in. This go round I had much better results. I am giving 90% of the credit to the new stand mixer and 10% to knowing that if you roast peanuts for 50 minutes they will burn. The recipe in the book is quite off on the time it takes to roast peanuts. The first time around I put the peanuts in for 25 minutes and when I checked them they were on the verge of inedible. This time I checked the peanuts every five minutes and I think they turned out perfectly. I was able to use the stand mixer to mix in the butter and oil and when I was done I had some great tasting peanut butter. I say that plainly, but if you have never had this peanut butter then you can’t understand how good it is. People all around the country order this peanut butter from Mitch and I think about once a week someone at the MPLS airport has their peanut butter confiscated trying to carry it on the plane. I am using a good portion of this batch for another recipe later this week. I’ll probably be making this again before the year is up.

One of the folks in my blogging community issued a challenge to us all to find and read two random blog posts every day. I did not sign up for that challenge because I already spend way too much time on the rabbit hole that is the internet, but I like the idea. Also I needed something I could count seven of. I figured I would steal a little of her idea and present you with some of the random blogs I have found using some of the same methods she talks about (tag surfing, etc). I am going to keep this limited to food blogs because in theory that is what I am writing.

  1. Smitten Kitchen – There are a lot of visually stunning food blogs out there, but this one combines the best of amazing pictures, great recipes, and good writing. This is easily my favorite food blog that I read.
  2. The First Kitchen – Just found this one tonight. The most recent post is on salted fudge brownies. Yum.
  3. From the Little Yellow Kitchen – I’m sensing a theme with the names. This blog puts mine to shame with the gorgeous photos. The one I really like is on Lemon Herb chicken.
  4. Piglet in Portugal – This isn’t really a food blog, but she is pretty dedicated to rrying a new recipe each week for her Foodie Friday series.
  5. Charity Dinner – This is just a great concept. I hope they keep it up.
  6. The Moonlight Baker – I just started reading this one. Great pictures.
  7. My Custard Pie – A view of Dubai through food-tinted glasses.

 

Recipe #39: Mitch’s World Famous Peanut Butter

Damn Good Road Food Quote of the Day: …the best peanut butter we have ever sampled, anywhere. – Jane & Michael Stern of Roadfood.com

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2011 9:25 am

    I just found your blog through classyrose. I’m also trying to go through an entire cookbook, although I wish mine only had 157 recipies : (

    From one crazed foodie to another, good luck!!!

    • February 19, 2011 12:42 pm

      157 didn’t sound like a lot when I started, but I think it will turn out to be about what I am able to accomplish in a year. You have taken on a bible of cooking that I can’t imagine tackling.

  2. February 17, 2011 9:11 am

    Love the “food-tinted glasses”! That’s a great description.

  3. February 16, 2011 10:58 pm

    Thanks for the mention! Looking to get more contributed recipes from our charity dinner cohorts soon. I know there’s a pretty awesome fennel and citrus salad floating around out there from a few weeks ago.

  4. February 16, 2011 10:08 pm

    I love food ~ reading about it, viewing photos of it, trying new recipes and . . . eating!

    Thanks.

  5. February 16, 2011 6:23 pm

    Thanks for the blog love! We SO appreciate it! We are excited to follow your “project”!

  6. February 16, 2011 7:09 am

    Hi and thanks for the shout out. How’s the new job going?

    Sorry you can’t join the challenge but I love what you’ve done in turning my idea around listing the blogs you have visited.

    As Piglet In Portugal says, it’s good to think outside the box.

    Thanks again. 🙂

    • February 16, 2011 10:20 pm

      New job is going well, but my brain is full when I get home so the blooing is a challange.

Trackbacks

  1. or not – RandomBlog2011 Challenge Day 3 – Tips « Things in life I find annoying

Leave a Reply

