Skip to content

Five Cups of Cream

February 13, 2011

As I write this I am drinking an immensely delicious Iced Crème Anglais Latte. I made it using some of the extra Crème Anglais that is used to top the bread pudding. I used the last of coffee concentrate to make it or I would already be anticipating another one. Think of drinking a combination of coffee and fresh vanilla pudding.

Dang now it’s gone.

The Bread Pudding was also delicious. My helper Sarah was with me for this recipe as well and again proved indispensable. Sarah sliced the bread into cubes while I read the recipe again to make sure I had everything I needed. I did not. This is a recipe for Bread Pudding with Crème Anglais. Anyone want to guess what the main ingredient in Crème Anglais is? That’s right, crème…or cream as we say here in America. I used the cream that was meant for this recipe to poach the eggs. I didn’t have to, but I cooked them that way last time and they turned out great. Kira once again grabbed her keys and headed to the store. In a rare display of wisdom I checked the list one more time before she took off. I also needed eggs. Not too many just a dozen or so.

Sarah and I got to work while Kira was out making her Valentine’s dessert possible. The first step is to drizzle melted butter over all the bread cubes and then bake in the butter for about 15 minutes. Kira made it back quickly so we were able to do the next step which is to create a milk and egg mix and pour it over the bread cubes. We added the currants and baked for 40 minutes.

While the pudding was baking we started in on the Crème Anglais. This sauce requires using a fresh vanilla bean and Sarah wasn’t around the last time I played with vanilla so she was pretty excited about that. She is now about 28 years ahead of me on seeing what a vanilla bean looks like. We used two pots to create a makeshift double boiler and probably could have used slightly bigger pot. The cream sauce is cream, milk, vanilla, sugar, and egg yolks. Sarah once again separated the eggs and watched the sauce to make sure it didn’t boil while I cut open the vanilla bean. Cooking the sauce in various stages took almost exactly the 40 minutes that the pudding was baking. For at least half of that time I was whisking. (Recall that I also made a hollandaise sauce last night. If this keeps up I am going to have some very good whisking muscles.)

We let both the pudding and the sauce cool for about 10 minutes and we dug in. I cut a couple of pieces like the picture at the top, but that was mostly for presentation. I ate mine out of a bowl. It holds more cream sauce that way.

Damn Good Parenting Decision of the Day: I let Sarah stay up past her bed time to partake in the bread pudding.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2011 5:28 pm

    Sounds like a sweet treat for Valentine’s Day. Enjoy!

  2. February 14, 2011 1:04 am

    Mmm, that sounds really, really good.

    Happy Valentine’s Day! Looks like you guys are doing it up right =)

Leave a Reply

