Skip to content

One Loaf of Bread

February 10, 2011

As I write this the smell of baking bread is filling the house. Tonight I am making Brioche Bread which will be used for the Bread Pudding I am making this weekend. I don’t have the extra mental energy to do this Thank You the justice it deserves, but I got a new toy from my lovely wife. She gave me an early Valentines/Congratulations on the new job gift. About every third recipe in Damn Good Food says something like, “put the ingredients in the bowl of a stand mixer and…” Until now I did not have a stand mixer.

This is a nice mixer. It has all the bells and whistles and came with the dough hook I needed tonight for the Brioche. I took some video of the mixer in action, but it is too late for me to figure out how to get it on here.

The directions state that this mixer will probably mix things twice as quickly as most recipes call for. If the recipe says mix for 2 minutes on high then I should use 1 minute on medium. It’s that powerful. Tonight I used the low setting (stir or 1) and the next lowest setting (2). I may some day go as high as 10, but I’m not really sure what that will do.

Once the dough was mixed a little I kneaded it and let it rise for a good while (1.5 hours). Then I used the mixer again to add in some butter. I kneaded in the bits of butter that didn’t mix in and then let it rise for about 10 more minutes. Then I flattened it out to a rectangle with a rolling pin. I rolled up the rectangle into a cylinder and put in the pan with the seam down.

Another hour or so for rising and now I am finally baking. If I have timed this correctly it should be done right about now and I can add in a picture of the finished product.

 

Yup. It just came out of the oven.

Recipe #34: Brioche Bread

Damn Good Food Quote of the Day: Brioche is the monarch of breads and lends itself to dozens of applications, from wrapping beef wellington to the croutons we use for our salads.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 12:49 pm

    I absolutely love my kitchen aid mixer! It’s something that everyone who loves to cook or bake should try to have. How sweet of your wife to give you such a great gift!

  2. February 10, 2011 12:19 pm

    That bread looks awesome! Enjoy the bread pudding!

    We had chocolate bread pudding recently. If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/01/29/life-is-short-eat-dessert-first/

    • February 10, 2011 6:20 pm

      The eat dessert first is funny because until a day or so ago all I had planned was the bread pudding – no meal to go with it. The kids were in favor of a dessert only night.

  3. February 10, 2011 9:01 am

    what a great blog! it’s enough to make me want to start making bread again! cheers!

  4. February 10, 2011 6:26 am

    that’s a heck of a mixer.
    and i am so glad you don’t have your windows open. the smell of baking brioche would do me in.

    • February 10, 2011 6:18 pm

      Spring will be here soon (or so I heard) and the windows will have to be opened.

Leave a Reply

