Skip to content

A Hard Day’s Night

February 7, 2011

I am completely brain fried.

After a non-stop weekend of cooking and Polar Cubs I started a new job today followed by a two hour Cub Scout gathering. About once every other month we have a pot luck with the cub scout pack and hand out various awards. Tonight was our Blue and Gold Dinner ,which means we provided the main course and had some extra items on the agenda. the dish we provided this year was roast beef. I have to admit I thought it was an odd choice, but it was sliced thin and served with an au jois sauce. I ate half a plateful. The events tonight included having our boys who are in the 5th grade bridge over from Cub Scouts to Boy Scouts. It was well done and I’m glad we could give them the recognition. Some of the boys have been cub scouts for 5 years and earned all the badges along the way. It could have been shorter or maybe not scheduled on such a busy night. Max will probably be doing this next year and I’ll no doubt think it was just the right length, but did I mention I was brain fried? The other part of the meeting was somebody got up in front of the group and talked about how wonderful cub scouts and boy scouts is while making a plea for folks to donate money. The Scouting organization calls it the Family Friends of Scouting program and each pack has a pledge goal for the year. Oh, and did I mention that the guy asking for all the money was me?

As for the new job? If you remember all the great things I’ve said about this job already, then allow me to say that the hits just keep on coming. I’m not going to go into great detail, but I learned about some more benefits today that made me feel like I landed a job at Google.

Damn Good Welcome of the Day: Mike, Welcome to the Data Dudes. [Written on the white board in the training room]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 8:57 am

    Aww! I remember those scout days …. a lot of work but rewarding. Congrats on the new job!

  2. February 8, 2011 8:46 am

    that’s what i call a full day.

  3. February 7, 2011 10:17 pm

    (I just saw your comment on the Blogging Buddy post that I’d completely forgotten about… I’d love to be your buddy! Sorry for the mucho-late reply XD)

    Ahh, Cub Scouts. My dad’s the leader of my brother’s [den? troop? pack? the one with about twelve boys], and in charge of our local Blue and Gold dinner next week. I can definitely sympathize with the work that would require.

    Any job that can be compared to working at Google must be one worthwhile =)

  4. Patti permalink
    February 7, 2011 9:57 pm

    Data Dudes? How impossible to live with are you going to be?

    • Kira permalink
      February 7, 2011 10:00 pm

      Not impossible so much as really happy.

      • Patti permalink
        February 9, 2011 7:04 am

        Can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

