Skip to content

Yesterday

February 6, 2011

I spent six hours today running around in the snow with a bunch of Webelos. It was a glorious winter day here in Minnesota and a good time was had by all. This is the fourth year Max and I have gone to Polar Cub Camp and spent a day snow tubing, playing games and running around. There’s an awful lot of running. It is typical for Max to fall asleep on the way home and if I wasn’t driving I would probably join him. (Max, if you are reading this – “just closing my eyes for a bit” counts.) We got home about 4:30 and I was too tired to think about cooking anything. Which leaves me nothing to blog about since this is supposed to be a blog about cooking. I could blog about the delicious Carbonara that Kira made for dinner, but since I was not conscious while it was being made it would be hard to describe accurately. Luckily for me we had some bananas go bad on us and yesterday Melanie and I turned them into Banana Walnut Muffins.

We started with something like this.

And used a recipe I found on Cooks.com to turn them into the muffins you see at the top. The ingredients are pretty basic.

  • 1/2 c. softened butter
  • 1 c.  sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 3 to 4 ripened bananas
  • 3/4 c. flour
  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. walnuts or pecans

The instructions say to mix the bananas, sugar, butter, and vanilla together first and then add everything else. This worked OK, but if I had to do it over again I probably would have melted the butter completely first or just blended it with the sugar before adding the bananas. After Melanie peeled the banana’s and plopped the overripe fruit into the bowl it was just too mushy to get the butter mixed in well.

Once we got the butter mixed in as best we could we added the cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, eggs, and walnuts. I have some whole nutmeg that we grated into the batter which always make me feel like a real chef.

We added the baking soda and then the flour. We didn’t have any whole wheat flour so we just doubled the regular flour. We put in half the flour, mixed it in well and then added the other half. I added about 1/4 cup more after that because it still looked too liquidy to me. We poured the batter into paper muffin cups (all we had were Christmas design, but they still worked).

We baked them at 350° for about 30 minutes. The recipe says 20-25, but that didn’t work in our oven. The result was some yummy muffins. And because we made them yesterday Max and I had something we could grab for breakfast on our way out the door at 7am.

Damn Good Cooking Quote from Yesterday: Ewww. These [ripe bananas] are so gross.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 4:58 pm

    We’ll see if I can get the wife to try this recipe out!

    • February 8, 2011 9:05 pm

      Hook, I bet this one you could get the daughter to make – it is pretty straight forward. You might offer to help do some of the mixing after the second cup of flour.

  2. February 8, 2011 10:21 am

    I love muffins and I like this recipe! Can I post it on my blog?! I’ll link it to your blog of course…

    • February 8, 2011 9:04 pm

      You can definitely post this on your blog. I stole it from Cooks.com and added my own twist to it, but this is the first time I’ve made it. It turned out pretty good though.

  3. February 7, 2011 10:04 am

    My husband will let bananas become too ripe just so I’ll make him banana bread!

Trackbacks

  1. Look out Cake Boss, there’s a new Chef in the kitchen! | SoapBird

Leave a Reply

