Skip to content

Do You Want to Know a Secret

February 5, 2011

I made Salmon Elise tonight, but I won’t be writing about that. You’ll just have to trust me when I say I had a great time cooking the salmon and that it turned out wonderfully. I have a plan for the blog entry about this dish and when I post it all will become clear.

Instead I will tell you about the great experience I had buying the salmon and scallops. I wanted to have fresh seafood for this meal so I waited intentionally until today to purchase it. This recipe, while sophisticated enough to be served in fine restaurants, is in the Cuisine Savage chapter of Damn Good Food. This chapter is all about hunting and cooking wild game (like antelope and bear). The implication to me is that I should have caught the salmon myself and then harvested the sea scallops. I did the next best thing and went to Coastal Seafoods. Getting fresh seafood in a landlocked state can be challenging, but Coastal had a great selection of fish that was in the ocean not too long ago. As an added bonus the service was incredible. I waited for a couple of minutes mentally debating how much salmon I should get and which type looked the closest to Coho (which was not available). As I waited the man in front of me had several questions (mostly about price) which the clerk answered patiently. This man selected a very high quality grade Ahi Tuna and the clerk offered to cut it into steaks for him. After they fish was already cut the customer realized how much the tuna cost (24.99/lb) and he changed his mind to a lesser grade tuna. The clerk didn’t  blink he just grabbed the new tuna and cut that into steaks as well. Next it was my turn and after I explained I was looking for Coho Salmon he directed me to the Atlantic which was the closest thing they had. It looked good to me. He then cut the salmon into 5 uniform pieces and skinned it for me.  We chatted a little bit as he rung me up and I was impressed with his knowledge about cooking seafood. Many of the dishes in Damn Good Food have fish as the centerpiece and I am looking forward to going back to Coastal Seafoods for all of them.

Recipe #33: Salmon Elise

Damn Random Picture of the Day:   Frosted Ponytail

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2011 10:34 am

    Love the ponytail! 🙂 So when can we expect pics of this lovely salmon dish? I like salmon…but I run out of ideas of making it differently. That’s why i ask about the pics. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • February 8, 2011 9:06 pm

      I’m not sure yet when I am going to post this, but there will definitely be pictures.

  2. February 6, 2011 8:10 pm

    Food is about so much more than sustenance to you, isn’t it?
    Great post!

    • February 6, 2011 8:15 pm

      If you had asked me that a few years ago I would have protested that I am a diehard meat and potatoes man, but food is becoming a very big part of my life and of our household. We’ll see if this is a good thing.

  3. February 6, 2011 3:17 pm

    I love the fresh food places that have good, knowledgeable folks working there. I learn so much from them!

Leave a Reply

